We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FLIGHT CANCELLED CHARGED FOR ROOM ANYWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked a flight from Las Vegas to Duluth,MN. Flight scheduled to depart at 2:30 pm and arrive in Duluth,MN at 7:30Pm. We booked a room at the Residence Inn in Duluth for July 19th and 20th. We waited until 7:30PM to board our Allegiant Air flight to be taken off and flight cancelled. I called to the Residence Inn twice on the evening of the 19th. First time I spoke with Mike and advised we would be late. Then I called again and spoke with Hanna at approximately 8:30 pm and advised flight cancelled we wouldnt be able to make it to cancel our reservation. She advised me that I couldnt cancel with the Hotel directly that I should call Expedia and she provided me a phone #of 210-477-1089. I didnt book thru Expedia so they couldnt help me either. We were in the worst rain storm I have ever been in,so we found a place to stay for the night. I starting calling Priceline and Residence Inn this morning. Per Mike at Residence Inn he will cancel and refund the 2nd night but not the first. I understand it is not the Residence Inn's fault I did not make it to Minnesota, but it is also not my fault either. I do not believe that you have provided me the best customer service. I am asking for a full refund for both nights. So if anyone out there is planning a trip to Duluth you might not want to stay at the Residence Inn if this is the best customer service that they provide.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Robin,

We understand your frustration with the situation, and your recent travel plans.

According to our records, this reservation was made through a third-party booking website, in which case the reservation must be cancelled through that particular party; in accordance with their cancellation policy. We feel that we did our best in contacting the third-party in order to have the second night canceled and refunded to you.

Additionally, any reservation made directly through our hotel includes a cancellation policy that states the reservation may be cancelled without penalty any time before 6 p.m. the day of the reservation. We received a call from you at 8:30 p.m. (10:30 p.m. CST) at which point it was unfortunately too late to cancel the reservation.

Again, we apologize for the circumstances, and we wish you the very best.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent a night at this property and frankly did not expect much, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised. It is a new, beautiful hotel and offers really nice amenities. We stayed in a 2 room suite which was elegantly decorated and had brand new appliances with very comfy beds. The front desk staff were great, efficient and helpful and the other staff members were equally exceptional. The free breakfast was very good...eggs, waffles, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, toast, etc. served in a nicely appointed breakfast area. They have a fenced in basketball 1/2 court which would be fun for kids. There is no restaurant on site, but there are several close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is set back a ways from the main road, it did not appear that the rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Although our hotel is over 2 1/2 years old now, we do our very best to keep it looking "brand new". We take a lot of pride in keeping the hotel looking great--while also providing the very best service to compliment the physical aspects of the hotel. We LOVE the comment that you were "VERY pleasantly surprised"!

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel (rooms, staff, breakfast) is top notch in service and decor. It has a full kitchen and the rooms are large. It's not located in Duluth proper so you need a car to go downtown. It's about a 10 minute easy drive and parking downtown is easy. We found places to park for free each time we went and it was busy. The hotel is about 2 years old so everything we saw was in great shape. The front desk is outstanding with our hats off to Cheryl. They have pool facilities, basketball court, most nights a meal (fee offering) and lots more.

The only reason I'm giving the hotel 4 stars is the shower head was turned up (probably by housekeeping when they were cleaning) and they forgot to return it to its original position. Since I'm short, that was a problem. If my husband hadn't been there I would have had to call for service.

Note: If you go to see the famous lift bridge (in Duluth), cross the bridge and you can park for free just over it. It's a 2 minute walk back over the bridge to the stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you so much for your GREAT review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write such a kind review. You have highlighted so many things that we are happy to provide our guests. It truly is guests like yourself, who identify such qualities--that allow our hotel to be successful.

Again, thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel was modern, clean, comfortable, spacious and well-lit with helpful staff and a nice pool.

While pricier than many in the area, it can be a great deal for a family, particularly on nights when both dinner and breakfast are provided (check before booking).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nextportofcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate that you have recognized the value that we offer our guests. We love that we're able to provide guests with features and amenities that are not found in many hotels. We do this for guests like yourself that value these amenities. They are things that make many of our guests stays memorable ones.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Great stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean. Hotel staff were very nice and polite and helped us out as tour guides directing us to great restaurants and bars. Thought the hotel was overpriced though for the location

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pallu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad that you enjoyed our stay with us.

We love it when guests laud our efforts as "tour guides". We are very familiar with the city and love to provide guests with recommendations of local attractions and eateries. We strongly encourage any guest to stop by the front desk and get a rundown of everything Duluth has to offer!

Thank you again for your kind review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice,clean,spacious rooms. Excellent staff and great breakfast options. Just minutes away from area attractions...easy to find. Top notch hotel! Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review--we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate it when guests take time out of their day to share their positive experience with others. It goes a long way in helping others choose to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth.

Thank you again, and we are very excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

In you do not mind the 5-10 minute drive to Canal Park, this hotel is definitely a winner. Why I like this establishment:

1. Seamless check-in/check-out process. We were able to check in 3 hours before the official time (4pm). Which was very much appreciated.
2. Although the hotel was not in the Canal Park, it is close to Cub Foods, Target, and other stores. If you're staying in a suite (which should have a kitchen, oven, microwave), you can save a few $ by making your own meals.
3. Breakfast was great. A lot of choices (egg muffins, sausages, ham, eggs, cereals, oatmeal, fruits, waffles, yogurts, parfaits, juices, tea and coffee). The morning staff was very attentive: tables were cleaned all the time, and they kept bringing out fresh food during prime time.
4. Social hours (between 6pm and 7:30pm) arrangement was a nice touch. Soup, salad, and desserts were prepared for the hotel guests.
5. The hotel has a pool (depth between 3-5 feet), exercise room (new and nice equipment), a half-basketball court and an outdoor patio area equipped with a grill.

Above all, the following observation truly sets this establishment apart from the others. When I was at the lobby during the social hours, a couple was checking in but they didn't have a credit card to complete the process. The front desk person simply made a call (assuming to her supervisor), asked a few questions and helped out the couple. Throughout that process, she was polite, courteous, and professional.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we appreciate the time and consideration that you put in to writing such a kind review.

At times our location away from canal park can be a negative for guests because they want to be "close to the lake". Our philosophy is that we are away from the crowdedness of canal park, yet we're still just a short drive away if you would like to tour the area. We're also in the vicinity of shopping, restaurants, and the Duluth International Airport. We LOVE that you recognize and understand how we set ourselves apart from other hotels in Duluth, and we can't wait until you visit again!

Thank you again for the AWESOME review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £103 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing