We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duluth's Best Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanabi

Hanabi
Ranked #30 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone number (218) 464-4412 and email hanabimn@hotmail.com
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Duluth's Best Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The outside of Hanabi is kind of sketchy -- you wouldn't expect the food to be nice at all. However, once you walk through the doors you realize this isn't the case. It's extremely trendily designed and easily has the most expensive, best tasting Sushi in the North.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank knovikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very tasty sushi and other Japanese cuisine. Not too pricey. Fun to order a variety and share amongst your group.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I really did not like sushi I had in other places, but when a friend invited me to go to lunch there, I imagined I could find something else to eat.

I went with my friend's sushi recommendations. It was so divine!

I cannot recommend it enough.

Parking is a hassle though

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great lunch and happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

cocktails are over priced. used to have a great bartender, professional, friendly made a solo happy hour fun. Sushi is excellent! compares above the most any where. prices very high. uni nigirii $14, ridiculous. most rolls are interesting but too mayo oriented. Sushi bar is unused and designed so that chefs are above you so you cant interact with chef or watch preparations. they have a server bring your sushi when you are seated at sushi bar. not the point right?

servers are not memorable. i used to go often sit at the liquor bar to have a sushi bar atmosphere as a solo diner. Duluth needs to serve individual diners better than it does. Hanabi should provide a better sushi bar experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodswoman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good sushi. Best prices during lunch...sketchy neighbors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoy the lunches here-- selecting the 3 sushi rolls (get to choose) for about ten dollars for lunch, pass on the miso soup. the salad is prepackaged lettuce with the wasabi dressing; both are easy to pass on--but the spicy crab rolls are very good and the eel rolls are enjoyed by my family whole wont otherwise eat eel!

Inside its dark and just okay for atmosphere, while outside the signage is lacking. And although the restaurant is a place I enjoy, I am not fond of the area orthe hillside parking. The place is out of the Main Street traffic on a one way street going up the hill--and across the street from the homeless hangout-- my family, who lives in Duluth, felt the area sketchy and didn't want to walk alone at night. That said, try it for lunch or happy hour and it is a better feeling in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuluthFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hanabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing