We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Downtown - Great Service, Beautiful Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Holiday Inn in downtown Duluth is a great property. We were traveling over Father's Day weekend and booked 2 rooms, 1 for our 16 year-old. We contacted the hotel to request rooms near each other and were delighted to have this amazing setup that allowed my wife and I to have privacy, while also being able to monitor our teenager. The rooms were not quite adjoining, however there was an entrance that led to the 2 rooms 1509 & 1510 - Perfect Setup! The rooms must have been recently remodeled as they were not only well appointed but also impeccably clean. All the staff were so accommodating to all of us and we ran into the GM, Gerry, more than once and each time he took time to ensure that we were happy and well taken care of. One day we walked down to Canal Park, it then began to rain. We called the hotel and literally minutes later there was a van to bring us back. With the rain killing our plans, we took advantage of the 2 indoor pools and the onsite restaurants. We will be back!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with lake views.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank FrequentTraveler7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My room was wonderful. I had a breath taking view of Lake Superior. The amenities were excellent. The restaurant had great service and wonderful food. Parking is a bit of a pain due to it being in a downtown area. The parking garage is a bit small for my large truck but it worked out ok. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in the Duluth area

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccorley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is not the typical free-standing suburban Holiday Inn familiar to anyone who travels across America. It is part of a square-block multi purpose downtown re-development complex known as the Holiday center. My wife and I stayed here for two nights the last weekend in May while she attended a convention. With its connectivity to the skyway leading to the civic center and Canal Park being the primary factor in making our selection, we did not know what else to expect from this hotel.
What we found was a central location, close to restaurants, shops, entertainment, and the skyway system, and a convenient, pleasant place to stay. There is drive up entrance with free parking for hotel guests in the attached ramp. Our recently remodeled room on the 16th floor had a commanding view of the lake, harbor, and Canal Park. It was clean, roomy, though not large, and well appointed. There was plenty of storage, counter and work space, and seating. The bed was quite comfortable. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One of the top floors facing the lake and Canal Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with king bed for two nights while at a convention. The staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The suite was compact but roomy enough for two adults. Room 1053 has a great view of the Lift Bridge from the bedroom and overlooks the pool and spa from the hallway. There is a ref and microwave. The bath entrance is outside the bedroom so is good when someone is sleeping on the sofabed. The shower power is good but the shower head may be too low if you are more than 5' 4". The king bed was more firm than soft but comfortable. The windows have great blackout shades if light bothers you at night. The room was very clean and was recently redecorated. It is not on the lake shore but close enough to walk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SueWSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear SueWSP, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to send in a review on our Holiday Inn & Suites in Duluth. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is not in a visually pleasing area. Yes it has many restaurants and bars close by , but is not a good place to bring kids or single people to stay. The bus stop is right in front of the doors that exit to the street. Many homeless types and loitering people are right outside the front doors. Duluth is a beautiful place to stay and this hotel is not a bargain nor a nice place to stay. Its noisy and old. The elevators are the slowest I've ever seen and not always reliable to be working. Take the time to find a hotel anywhere else , you will pay close to the same price for a nicer place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear zippydi, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give a review on our hotel. I'm so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel is located in downtown Duluth and we are on top of the Holiday shopping center but connected to many parts of downtown Duluth including the lakefront via skywalks well above street level. I do apologize that In front of the Holiday Center mall that there are bus stops in front but that is no where near our hotel entrance and lobby located on the 3rd floor. In fact, soon the bus stops will be moving to a new transit center coming to Downtown Duluth. I do apologize for the many people waiting for buses at times but be rest assured we do have our own security team on throughout the day, Duluth also has a great team called the Clean & Safe team that goes around the canal and downtown areas to keep things safe and clean along with our local Duluth Police on foot, bike, horse, and car. I wish I could talk you into coming back to give us another try as we have just completed our huge renovation and more exciting things to come for our guests. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a last minute jaunt with the kids. The room was fine and clean enough, but it felt like we were in a tunnel, it was so dark in there, even with the shades open. The window was filthy and you could not even look out of it! The toilet in the bathroom was sweating the entire time we were there and the water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. The pros of this stay were that both of the pools were awesome (who wouldn't love a metallic pool?)! The girls loved the pools. They also loved Sneakers, as did we. The service was great and it was just exactly what we needed - nothing fancy and very relaxed atmosphere. Porter's was not as great. Our server basically saw us a few times and then left to go do room service, so it took about 15 minutes to find out that we needed to pay at the front desk! The Greenery was lovely and had yummy coffee and donuts, though. The area around the outside of the hotel (first floor, street level) was a little shady. Not the best area and we kept walking through a fog of smoke from the people sitting at the bus stop...plus my kids learned some new swear words. The front desk staff was nice and found us some (really horrible, as it turns out) goggles, so even though we threw them out when we left, the guy took some extra time to dig around the back for them (probably explains why they were only $2/pair!). It was fun to have access to the skyway to walk down to Canal Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraGollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear MaraGollin, Thank you for the review and for staying with us while you were here in Duluth. We are very happy that you had many positive comments about our hotel including our two pools, front desk service, clean room, and how you loved our Greenery restaurant and Sneakers restaurant. I do apologize for your window being filthy and your poor experience in our Porters restaurant. I have shared your comments with my team to make sure we can focus on these areas in housekeeping and Porters. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you do come back and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The recently remodeled rooms feature. Homemade bed frame that is ripe for tripping you or hitting your foot or leg on if the mattress is not perfectly aligned. Was disappointed and when I spoke with management they really had no good response. Been a loyal IGH customer for a long time. Will look for other accommodations next time I am in Duluth.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mike N, Thank you for the review on our property and for staying with us here in Duluth. I want to apologize for your bed frame experience. That is not how are bed frames are supposed to be set up and I apologize for the bed coming off the frame like it did and potentially tripping or hitting your foot. We are now finishing our complete hotel renovation and most rooms have new metal box frames in our rooms and I apologize again that this room still had an old frame in it that wasn't set up correctly. Thank you for being a loyal IHG rewards member and I ask that you give us another chance in the near future. Please contact me at: Gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com so we can further discuss. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#6 of 31 in Duluth
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown

Address: 200 West First Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £61 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as two restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing