We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not a guest but the is Staff Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was not a guest but the is Staff Incredible!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On August 5th I called the hotel and spoke to Kayla to help me pull of a birthday surprise for my husband. He was staying at this hotel while on business and I wanted to surprise him from Michigan. Kayla helped me order desserts from a local restaurant and have them sent up to his room along with a card. She was so friendly and helpful and it really made his birthday on the road a little better. I appreciate her and the rest of the staff's help and so happy that they went above and beyond to pull off a little birthday cheer! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Sarah G, Thanks for the nice review and comments with regards to your husbands stay with us this past week. I have shared your comments with Kayla and the rest of our team as we are always excited to get feedback like this and I'm so happy my team went above and beyond for you. Thanks again and I hope your husband stays with us again for his birthday but with you next time!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    91
    63
    16
    15
See reviews for
102
72
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After staying at really nice Holiday Inns on a trip to LA, I was more that willing to reserve a room in Duluth, Mn at the Holiday Inn. The Checkin was OK. Receptionist talked a little fast for this AARP guy. Got to go right up to our room. Thought I was getting an upgraded room. Looked pretty standard in size. View of the Twin Ports was great. Could see between the two tall buildings to each side. Room was quiet and relaxing. Next morning when we went down for a light breakfast, the ala carte breakfast didn't have much to offer. Both in selection and sitting area. The whole area needs a make over big time. And a good dusting too. Whatever you do, don't look up by the street window!

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better. East side has the Twin Ports view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Randy S, thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel in Duluth. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your room. I'm so sorry that our restaurant, the Greener in the Holiday Center below our hotel on the 1st floor, didn't have much of a selection for you during your stay as they freshly bake a huge array of bakery items each morning and I know they can go fast on certain days! We also have our sit down restaurant Porters next door which offers a full breakfast and lunch menu for seated dining. I will definitely talk to my cleaning team to get the dusting done up on the street windows. Thanks again for the feedback and for staying with us in Duluth.

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We know Duluth well. When you stay downtown you get the fringe. When you stay at Canal Park or up at Miller Hill Mall area you get better. This hotel has been around a long time and they make some refresh attempts but you cannot turn it into what it's not w/out a complete rehab and it's needed. Not to mention...the room was not clean....the windows were pretty dirty and the walls/public corridors, etc. were really banged up/marred. So you get what you pay for, folks.

Room Tip: Multiple floors overlook indoor pool areas so make sure if you want an outer perimeter room, esp. on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jkcgray, Thank you for the review and for staying with us in Duluth. I am so sorry to hear you had a poor stay at our hotel in July. If you can, can you email me at Gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com so I can find out what room you stayed in/what date and discuss your stay further. We take service and cleanliness very seriously and we feel bad that we didn't meet your expectations and our goal of complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we can talk soon.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were on the Lake side on the 15th floor, great view and great, clean room.
Awesome staff and great food at Sneakers. You can order and they will deliver to your room.
lLove, love the pillows and bedding. We enjoyed our stay in Duluth and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Cheryl H, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Duluth! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed your food in our Sneakers sports bar-restaurant. I have shared this with my team and thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to you staying with us again!

Thanks,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here while attending a conference in Duluth. The hotel has some nice amenities such as pools and hot tubs on several of its 16+ floors. On some floors finding your room could mean a long, winding trek, but once you finally got there the room itself wasn't too bad. We had a banquet in the hotel and the food was first-rate. The room included a mini-fridge but no microwave. There was a galleria on the two lower floors of the building with attached parking garage. The hotel is walking distance from many shops and businesses in downtown Duluth and less than a block from Lake Superior.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpls_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
411 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Super nice front desk staff. My room was spic and span clean. Fresh. After checkin, drive short distance to Lake Superior lake front near canal for evening drinks and dinner. Perfect. Back to room for a restful sleep! The Creemery Cafe on 1st floor serves Starbucks for the morning locals.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Decided to make Duluth the first stop on our trip. There are many hotels, some on the waterfront but the prices were quite high. Thus, we selected the Holiday Inn. It is right downtown and quite easy to find. The parking is free and plentiful.

Finding our room was the only problem we had. The hotel is in two main sections and when you get off the elevator it say room 1 - 20(?) are to the right and 20 - 42 are on the left. So we went to the left and found another area where there should be a sign. But if that's the only problem it's minor.

The room itself was very comfortable with a king bed, mini fridge, microwave and flat screen tv.

But the service, especially from Jennifer and Kaelyn, was phenomenal. They were both very knowledgeable about local attractions and how to get there. Constantly pleasent they are very good representatives of the Holiday Inn.

There is a restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch which we did not try and a sports bar called Sneakers which we did try. Very tasty sports bar food and very good service.

There are two pools, one on the third floor and one on the ninth. I have never, until this visit, seen a swimming pool that was entirely made of stainless steel. Really cool.
The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront so there is really no need to shell out the substantially higher cost of staying on the waterfront.

Room Tip: There are some rooms which offer pool and outside views on the eight through tenth floors. I saw ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catbertwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
0.3 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing