We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Besutiful weekend on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn, Duluth. The Walk to Canal park is only a couple of blocks, and the weather was perfect. The last day it drizzled, so we walked the skyway instead! Location was wonderful! Everything you need is nearby. The front desk was awesome. They answered all our questions about restaurants and activities. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortyvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear shortyvaca, Thanks for staying with last week and for the review of our property and your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the skywalk to the harbor and canal. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank again,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a couples getaway which involved day trips to area attractions and plenty of night life. The hotel is in walking distances of the downtown bars and restaurants + Canal Park. The walk is interesting and at night we felt we needed to be vigilant of our surroundings. As for the property itself, the lobby is fairly small. Check in service was minimally friendly. The only restaurant we frequented was Porter's for breakfast. It was strangely laid out and dirty but the food was fairly decent. The rooms were the best part, they have been recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fairly modern. The price was a lot better than Canal Park hotels which were sold out 4 months in advance of our visit. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal Park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tator320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Tator320,

Thank you for your candid review. We are happy to see your compliments of our newly renovated guest rooms with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has two pools, one near the lobby, which does not have any rooms looking over it, and one on the 8th floor surrounded by an "atrium" of rooms. Unfortunately for us, we were on the 10th floor overlooking the pool. The noise was outrageous, with extremely young (and over tired) children screaming well past the 10:30pm pool time close, making it impossible for us to sleep. The hotel offering to move us to a quieter room at 10pm was nowhere near adequate. How about closing the pool at a more reasonable hour?? This was a terrible experience, and we will NEVER stay here again!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank TractorGirl800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear TractorGirl800, Thank you for staying with us during your stay in Duluth. I apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay in our Atrium area. Our two pools are so popular and our guests love them that we've always had quiet time with the pools closing at 10:30pm as that has been the most preferred time when we've asked our guests staying with us previously. We've had many guests want us to stay open later (11p-12a) so we have tried to find a happy medium for all of our guests. Again I am very sorry for the noise you experienced during one of our very busy nights. We will look at this time recommendation again but we do have our 24 hour security team and a Manager on Duty close it down promptly at 10:30pm to ensure quiet time for all our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and providing your review.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights.very friendly service, clean rooms and good location. The shuttle took us anywhere we wanted to go and picked us up from our destination.this was a great service. We parked the car for three days and either walked or shuttled. As well the trolley service stops right outside hotel and takes you to major attractions for 50 cents! It runs every half hour through most of the day. Breakfast was good and again very pleasant service.lots of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Lovely city!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Loraine01, Thank you for your review of our hotel and for staying with us during your stay in Duluth. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On August 5th I called the hotel and spoke to Kayla to help me pull of a birthday surprise for my husband. He was staying at this hotel while on business and I wanted to surprise him from Michigan. Kayla helped me order desserts from a local restaurant and have them sent up to his room along with a card. She was so friendly and helpful and it really made his birthday on the road a little better. I appreciate her and the rest of the staff's help and so happy that they went above and beyond to pull off a little birthday cheer! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Sarah G, Thanks for the nice review and comments with regards to your husbands stay with us this past week. I have shared your comments with Kayla and the rest of our team as we are always excited to get feedback like this and I'm so happy my team went above and beyond for you. Thanks again and I hope your husband stays with us again for his birthday but with you next time!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After staying at really nice Holiday Inns on a trip to LA, I was more that willing to reserve a room in Duluth, Mn at the Holiday Inn. The Checkin was OK. Receptionist talked a little fast for this AARP guy. Got to go right up to our room. Thought I was getting an upgraded room. Looked pretty standard in size. View of the Twin Ports was great. Could see between the two tall buildings to each side. Room was quiet and relaxing. Next morning when we went down for a light breakfast, the ala carte breakfast didn't have much to offer. Both in selection and sitting area. The whole area needs a make over big time. And a good dusting too. Whatever you do, don't look up by the street window!

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better. East side has the Twin Ports view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Randy S, thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel in Duluth. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your room. I'm so sorry that our restaurant, the Greener in the Holiday Center below our hotel on the 1st floor, didn't have much of a selection for you during your stay as they freshly bake a huge array of bakery items each morning and I know they can go fast on certain days! We also have our sit down restaurant Porters next door which offers a full breakfast and lunch menu for seated dining. I will definitely talk to my cleaning team to get the dusting done up on the street windows. Thanks again for the feedback and for staying with us in Duluth.

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We know Duluth well. When you stay downtown you get the fringe. When you stay at Canal Park or up at Miller Hill Mall area you get better. This hotel has been around a long time and they make some refresh attempts but you cannot turn it into what it's not w/out a complete rehab and it's needed. Not to mention...the room was not clean....the windows were pretty dirty and the walls/public corridors, etc. were really banged up/marred. So you get what you pay for, folks.

Room Tip: Multiple floors overlook indoor pool areas so make sure if you want an outer perimeter room, esp. on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jkcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jkcgray, Thank you for the review and for staying with us in Duluth. I am so sorry to hear you had a poor stay at our hotel in July. If you can, can you email me at Gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com so I can find out what room you stayed in/what date and discuss your stay further. We take service and cleanliness very seriously and we feel bad that we didn't meet your expectations and our goal of complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we can talk soon.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 32 in Duluth
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown

Address: 200 West First Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £80 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as two restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing