We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location for business or pleasure. The Canal Park area is bursting with restaurants and stores yet downtown is 5 minutes away,
Greeted with a friendly smile and quickly assigned our room with instructions on how to get there. This is a “happening” hotel in a vibrant location. We arrived at 11 pm but there was still a group enjoying the lounge overlooking Lake Superior adjacent to the area where breakfast is served. There is another, more intimate lounge area across from the check-in counter with a fireplace.
The room was clean and had all the amenities. The desk/work area was especially well thought out with a table on wheels that could be pushed in or pulled out for more desk space under the fixed ledge for books or papers. As with all the Hampton Inn’s I’ve stayed at recently, there were multiple plugs for computers or charging devices.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept well under the warm duvets.
The breakfast area was particularly roomy in this Hampton with all the usual offerings including eggs, oatmeal, sausages, toast, bagels, butter and Becel and the great Belgian waffle machines.
Checkout was quick and we were on our way from the well maintained parking lot.

Room Tip: views from all rooms are good. On the city side you can get some nice night shots, lake views are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    248
    84
    34
    14
See reviews for
291
293
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was the best hotel that I have stayed at in Duluth. I thank the friendly and helpful staff who all had smiles. Breakfast area was perfect with lots of seating and large windows to view Lake Superior.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This particular Hampton in right on the beautiful Lake Superior. A beautiful place to get away but be so close to things to do. There are many great shopping and dining locations within walking distance and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Hotel was conviently located. Walking distance to a variety of restaraunts and shops. In the bitter MN cold we enjoyed a walk to Grandma's for dinner. The pool was warm and the hot tub was hot. We were able to use the lobby area as a meeting place with family where we ate dinner and played games. Breakfast in the morning offered hot and cold options. Both were delicious and the staff refilled items as they were eaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank diverdave73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Two nights with very little sleep = horrible stay at this Hampton. Although outward appearances are fine, the construction is awful...the walls and ceilings are extremely thin. Not only could we hear people shouting, running up and down the halls, and banging on doors into the wee hours of the morning, we also had to deal with much stomping above us. Earplugs and running both the bathroom and heater fans constantly barely dimmed the ongoing noise. We put up with it the first night, getting only a few hours of sleep. The second night we phoned the front desk and were told security would be notified. Nothing happened. We phoned again...there was no answer. We finally went out into the hall in our pajamas...twice...asking people to quiet down...without success. Second night again...only a few hours of sleep...a very exhausting stay. If we'd wanted to have a college dorm experience for two nights, we would've tried UMD. Although we're Hilton Honors members, we will definitely stay elsewhere on our next visit to Duluth. This was awful!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 252cynthiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I was sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I know we did not have security on that Thursday,which admittedly was an oversight on our part knowing a team was going to be in house. There is no excuse as to why on Friday night our security and front desk staff would not be able to handle noise issues properly. Please be assured this is an important issue to us and it will be looked into and handled immediately. Without specific information I can only do so much in regards to these complaints.

You can add notes into your profile that alerts us to have you on the top floor. You can also add notes in the comment section to let us know of your noise issue concerns. We want every stay to be a good one for everyone. We would be more than happy to do whatever we can to make your next stay memorable in a positive way.

Thank you for your time and your honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The room and hotel were exactly at advertised on the web site and the pictures on the internet were exactly like the real thing. The location in Canal Park was close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. Great stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DULUTH MN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a great place to stay for family gatherings. Clean, quite, great value, and a great location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The view of the lake is fantastic. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing