We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for Canal Park”
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel, for the duration of our stay, was cheaper than the other 3 next to it and had better reviews. We had tried the Comfort Suites in the past and while pleased, wanted to save a few $. We were not disappointed.
PROS: Within walking distance to everything in Canal Park, next to a brewery, and of course RIGHT on the shore of Lake Superior. (Which the hotel keeps a path snowblowed to the lake walk, very nice.) Lake view rooms would have a stunning view. We chose a city view to save extra $ and in turn our room was huge with a beautiful view of Duluth, especially at night. Entire hotel is spotless, our room had everything we needed with Neutrogena bath products, comfy beds, granite counters, great lighting, ample plug-ins, micro and fridge. From reviews here we requested 3rd floor, end of hall which was for the most part quiet. Interestingly this hotel had a security guard in the night hours that 'looked everyone over' when they entered, which was good! He even was up on our floor scolding a family for letting their kids run the hallway. Housekeeping staff was VERY pleasant every time we saw them.
CONS: As with most hotels in this range, built paper thin. You hear every word people are speaking in the hall and every door shut. The biggest con during our stay was the front-desk staff. First their overall appearance did not match how nice the hotel is. I noticed right away that they seemed to have street clothes on with a nametag. I would expect at least a uniform top in a Hampton? The staff did not seem to mesh well at all, there was a lot of bickering and putting a younger new employee down...in front of patrons trying to check -in. Not impressive. Glad the hotel itself is nice because this was a turn off immediately. If I ran this hotel, I would be getting that front desk staff a classy upgrade.
Overall though - nice place to stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, end of hall rooms, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarpon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have stayed here 1-2 times a year for the last couple of years. I like what they have done to spruce up rooms with photography from local artists. Coffee bar in the morning has flavored shots to pump up the local brew. Stayed here in a snowstorm and within hours they were snow blowing out the walkway to the park point walkway. Nice job keeping the walk open in a storm..keep up the good work..only negative was the dust in the room..a better vacuuming cleaner may help..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Wonderful location and great service; rooms are very well kept and so are common areas; breakfast staff were very friendly and did a very good job refilling items and keeping area clean. Our favorite place to stay in Canal Park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank shiloh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nice clean hotel. Slightly more expensive than the hotels next door but it is clean and well kept. Good access to the local resurants and bars. The Comfort Suits just south of this hotel has a better breakfast, is slightly cheaper but the Hapton is cleaner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for hockey at Amsoil Arena. It is within walking distance of the arena very convenient and plenty of restaraunts within walking distance. 6 screen theater and shops also within walking distance.

Check in was friendly and efficient. Rooms are very nice and up to date. Breakfast area is nice and friendly staff to take care of everything. Front desk staff was very helpful and gave us directions to some excellent eating places.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Not only quiet, quality rooms with views staff takes time to be kind, efficient and helpful they also saved an item I left behind by mistake. I called and staff found it, labeled it. On way back from our trip we picked it up and stayed the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 394gregoryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

great place to stay. I would stay here again and intend to with my family this summer. The breakfast is top notch. There are cookies and coffee available at most times. The lobby is inviting and comfortable. This is the best .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing