We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand City”
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Oronoco, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand City”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Perfect location to see the sights. Nice breakfast to start the day. Easy walking to restaurants like Grandma's and to see the bridge. Went to see the many wonderful sights and college visits! Went to The College of St. Scholastica , and University of Minnesota at Duluth (UMD)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank pat051500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    238
    82
    33
    14
See reviews for
274
279
31
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a Hampton, plastic cups and below average food quality. $280 per night is outrageous for this level hotel. Make it a Doubletree or Embassy Suites with the requisite quality, and then charge that price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In response to your comment about plastic cups and food quality. Both are standards of Hampton that we have no choice but to follow. Hampton dictates specifically what we use and what foods we are allowed. I also checked your rate which was only 239 for the holiday weekend then dropped down to 189 for your last night. I would also like to comment on the fact we were sold out at the time you used your Diamond status to force yourself into the hotel for that weekend. Our hotel is priced comparable to the other hotels in Canal Park. I apologize if you felt we did not meet your expectations of a Hampton property. We do our best to follow Hampton standards in our pursuit to provide quality service to our guests. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful location on Lake Superior. Had a great handicapped bathroom. Good breakfast and guest services. My 94 year old mother and I celebrated my 70th birthday by visiting the rose garden at the end of the lake walk. Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 498sallyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Duluth and the North Shore at the end of June. Since our vacation was a week long, we didn't want to spend a ton of money on hotels. The Hampton wasn't in our plan, but after doing some research, we decided it would be fun to stay near the water (Lake Superior). We ended up using some Hilton Honors points and stayed two free nights.

The next time we stay in Duluth, we will spend the extra money and stay near the water. Here's why:

Location, location, location! Parking is free at the Hampton. It is monitored by an attendant. If you are willing to walk 1-4 blocks-leave your car and walk! It is close to everything (Canal Park, Maritime Museum, Lift Bridge, S.S. Irvin Boat, Convention Center... shopping, restaurants...) You have to pay to park everywhere else.

Service is top-notch! The front desk personnel are so friendly and courteous. We didn't need housekeeping services while we were there, but we were left with a fresh bag of toiletries and towels. We didn't have to ask!

Breakfast was wonderful! Served 6-10 a.m., they offer a variety of items (sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, waffles, donuts, muffins, breads, bagels, fruit cereal, oatmeal/fixings, juice, milk, coffee). It filled us up so much, we didn't need to find lunch! The Hampton has comfortable indoor and outdoor seating with a beautiful view of the lake. Don't feel bad if you don't have a room with a view- enjoy breakfast with a view in the morning!

Attention to detail! The hotel was immaculate. It was sooo clean! My husband said he saw someone scrubbing the floors on their hands and knees! We didn't find a speck of dust in the entire hotel. I would definately stay here again just based on the cleanliness. Soft cookies were provided in the afternoon. What a yummy treat!

Others: The pool area was nice and clean. Our lakeside, third floor room, was a lot of fun. We would watch the ships come in over the horizon and run down to Canal Park for their arrival. The lake walk is right out the front door. We had a lot of fun just watching the people from our window!

Great job Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2much4us2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our third stay at this location. Canal Park area is excellent. The hotel is perfectly located along the boardwalk/trail along the lake. There is also "Ice House" in the lake that the teenagers frequent to jump into the lake. Its fun to watch. We like to have happy hour on the back patio just people watching. lots of restaurants nearby. No need to drive. the Ariel Lift Bridge is just down the way so a short walk to see the cargo ships arrive and depart. They have an excellent breakfast with great views of the lake. the rooms are clean and everyone is friendly. The pool area is great and the water is a good temperature. My biggest complain is the HVAC is kinda loud and when the shower next to your room is turned on it is definitely loud. I would recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Lake view is the best, but they up-charge you for this option. Away from elevators since lots of k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarqReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estes park co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

our stay started out on the wrong note with a room overlooking the mechanical facility. We did not know when we booked on line that we did not have a lake view--which was why we chose the Hampton Inn in the first place. This was quickly fixed to an available room with a view at a small up charge. We missed the breakfast buffet we are becoming used to but went for the $4 restaurant breakfast--cold eggs (yuck) cold bacon, cold potatoes, cold toast. Room was very small. Not our best stay but Duluth was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank betty n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize we did not meet your expectations. We do follow Hampton standards for our breakfast food options. As for your room location, we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to work it out with you so that your stay was more comfortable. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice hotel accommodations. Very convenient walking and driving distance to many dining options, activities and shopping. Always enjoy staying in Canal Park and the Hampton staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing