We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Duluth
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This place does not smell good.... flooring in hallways has been torn out but they left the dirty filthy flooring in the rooms. As for the bathroom... it is not pleasant for the hotel guest to have to rinse out someone elses hairs from the bathtub.
As a person who has been on many motorcycle trips and has stayed in sketchy places, this place ranks in the very few that I will not return to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dansyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    45
    19
    44
See reviews for
33
41
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First the ugly: the flood damage and gross condition of the hallways
If you just want a place to sleep, they will let you check the condition of the room before checking in. The check in clerk was very nice. The price was right compared to other hotels in the area.

The good? The Duluth Grill restaurant is right across the parking lot and it is amazing! Use the $$ you save on your room to have dinner & breakfast there. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxergal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

davenport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was very disappointed.The room was over priced!109 a night.Thats crazy for that dump..The bed was HARD as a rock, I couldn't get any sleep.I was better off sleeping in the chair. The carpet was very disgusting and dirty. The front desk person was very rude.Thanks goodness I was able to find another room in the area.I guess it beats sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When I went to book a reservation at this particular hotel nowhere on the website nor over the phone with the staff was I told about the flood damage to the establishment itself. There was no carpet throughout the common areas, whole building reeks of cigarette smoke it was disgusting and hard to stomach. The staff was very friendly but not as helpful. Check in was a bit difficult as they couldn't figure out which room they had to put us in. ( due to their water damage that they did not tell us about) our room key wouldn't work, the room itself shabby, run down, old, in disrepair, and disgusting. No coffee maker, no bathroom toiletries, no blow dryer, we did have a microwave & mini fridge. The A/C knob didn't work properly, the bed was like sleeping on two box springs terribly uncomfortable.( I almost went out & bought an air mattress.) Very outdated, must gut entire building and renovate everything in order for it to be decent, or burn the place down & start over fresh. I can honestly say it wasn't worth the $77 I payed, NEVER again will I stay @ this hotel, I'll pay more $ to stay somewhere much nicer with more to offer their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MN123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel stay was for the Grandma's Marathon and I was there supporting a friend of mine who was running the Half Marathon. I walked through one of the doors to the hall and the carpet was ripped out, everything was extremely worn and made me feel like it was not clean. Everywhere I went smelled of smoke. The room I was in I sprayed my odor remover in the air so I could breathe - I didn't know how smokey it was going to be. It had a dirty feeling and the beds were noisy so my friend didn't get good sleep before her race. I can say this for sure, I'm never staying at a Motel 6 again. It was affordable & cheap but cleanliness was definitely sacrificed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninjaeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had reservations made online. Showed up at motel. The Motel is worn, dirty and has a musty smell. The front desk was empty with a a note that someone will be back shortly. I found out that the price quoted online was $69, but when I showed up the price was $89. The original price was for a single person. $20 for an additional person that may use an additional towel is a bit steep. The fact that the original quote was for a single person was not very apparent on the online site or on the confirmation slip.. I pointed that fact out but did not argue with the attendant. The hallway to our room was all. Some remodeling (much needed) is underway. The problem is that the hallway was musty smelling. Our room was quite large, mostly to the fact that the room used to have two beds and one had been removed. The room although clean looking had a sour milk smell. With all the fans and heat turned on the smell disappeared. I would consider staying again in this hotel only as a last resort.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room where you park in the back of the building. A narrow one-way lane surrounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I am the type of person who wants a clean room that is cheap when I am traveling. I don't need anything frilly. when I was in Duluth I would Stevie at Motel 6. The last two times I was there it was horrible. The room was dirty, interesting people were staying there, I really didn't feel safe. Last time I stayed there, I said never again. The staff were friendly enough, but that place needs to be revamped right away. It's sad that it is so run down now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kittybitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
391 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#21 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Duluth

Property: Motel 6 Duluth
Address: 200 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1825
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Duluth has easy access from I-35. Minutes away from Spirit Mountain hiking and skiing. Convenient to all summer and winter events and attractions like Grandma's Marathon, air and water shows. Modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Motel 6
Duluth Motel Six
Motel Six Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing