We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
387 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Quite unexpected”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

If you can get past the quirky country styling (somehow I think some can't) this was a nice place. Fairly comfortable room, quiet, and though it didn't matter, it was nice it was away from Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    123
    50
    19
    8
See reviews for
168
107
17
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hotel was nice and clean. Breakfasts in this chain I don't like but nothing against this property in particular.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel for a meeting but i brought my children along as well. On our second day of stay we requested maid service and all they did was pull up the beds and give clean towels, no vacuum or sheets or garbages. After our stay was over i gathered my stuff and checked out, i will admit the garbages were full as they didnt empty them the day before and the floor was messy along with a few crushed up crackers from my one year old.... I did not clean the room before i checked out but it was NOT trashed ... A couple days later I noticed a fifty dollar charge on my card and i called the hotel...It took them 1 1/2 weeks to return my numerous calls and when they did she was rude and said it was a deep cleaning charge.... and their is nothing they could do about it. I just thought it was ridiculous that they chose not to clean when they were suppose to but did charge extra after the fact. I would not reccomend this hotel as the customer service was not very good...Also did i mention I paid 150.00 per night

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmfranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, mn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is our preferred Duluth hotel for many of the reasons listed in other reviews: great price, big rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff, great location. We return once or twice a year and have been pleased at on-going up-grades. At the beginning of the summer the carpet was replaced, now this visit there were brand-new, flat-screen televisions in every room. It's nice to see a hotel keeping things nice. We'll keep coming back!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbkgnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at this particular Country Inn. It's nice and close to downtown Duluth, but still far enough away that it's quieter. Rooms are spacious and very clean - we received a free upgrade to a suite, which was ideal with young kids.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

My husband and I were in Duluth for a conference and needed a place to stay overnight. The hotel staff is very friendly and the room was very comfortable and clean. We were just here overnight, but would recommend the hotel to others, and would likely choose to stay again. The hotel is easy to get to (just off interstate 35) and a short drive to downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

I knew I might end up staying a night in Duluth, so I'd done quick internet research on the Duluth South Country Inn price, just in case. Once I was there, I saw another Country Inn closer to my location on Miller Hill, so I went in to find out if they had a room available. I was very surprised to hear them quote a price close to double that of the Proctor/Duluth Country Inn. The guy at the desk said it was because his was a newer property. Not so new that I decided it was worth twice as much. The original Duluth Country Inn is a lovely, well-maintained, quiet property. Unless you have a reason to be in the thick of the busy shopping area, and you don't mind paying an inflated price to be there, I'd recommend going to this Country Inn instead.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mcsue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
7.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth

Property: Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Address: 9330 W Skyline Pkwy, Duluth, MN 55810-2034 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Duluth, MN are close to great destinations, but our Duluth hotel has guests nestled minutes from the excitement of Spirit Mountain Ski Area and Adventure Park. Whether you're here for recreation at Canal Park or an event at Amsoil Arena DECC, staying at the right Proctor hotel can make all the difference. Our location and proximity to Spirit Mountain, downtown Duluth, Canal Park and many outdoor activities makes us a favorite. Our free, hot deluxe breakfast ensures you're ready to take on any adventure. Of course, no stay is complete without excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as high-speed Internet, a business center, well-equipped fitness center and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing