We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Duluth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Whenever we're in Duluth we stay at the Inn on Lake Superior. The rooms are very nice, fairly large and many have great views of the lake. There is a free breakfast but it wasn't very good on the Friday we left. Eggs that had been sitting for some time in the heaters and no meat choices whatsoever. You can't beat the location which is right on the canal and within a block or so of many restaurants, antique stores and tour boats. We've stayed at other hotels on this street but the paper thin walls left much to be desired. This hotel is quiet and offers a good night's sleep.
There are s'mores each evening around the fire on the lake side of the hotel and they are very popular.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear SteveoinMinnesoto,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast and offer my apologies. I will use you review in discussions and training to improve our operation. We value your feedback and your business and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
There are newer reviews for The Inn On Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place really has it down. I really admire the management of this facility. From check in to check out all was totally professional, well thought out and off the charts in terms of attention to detail. Everybody--I mean everybody is friendly and professional. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed with real coffee mugs, binoculars and complimentary beverages. It was very slow so we asked for and got a lake view room to our liking. It was really wonderful in comparison to a couple of nights before at another place. Wish we would have stayed all 3 nights here!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room on the first floor!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutsenresorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Lutsenresorter,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and submitting another review about your experience here. It i's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

1st stay here, although have been celebrating in Duluth for years. Very clean, comfortable room with a Great Lake view. Good breakfasts in am even warm fresh tiny doughnuts. Yum! Received a great rate. Would be worth paying seasonal up charge. Enjoyed coffee in room in real cups. No plastic here. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skjohns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Skjohns2,

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us this year. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your compliments. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here for many birthdays to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a Whirlpool King Suite and couldn't believe the size of the tub! Everything was very clean and we loved the massage bars they provided. They kept all amenities well stocked and the we had no problem with noise. The outdoor pool was amazing!! While it was heated, it was still a little too cold outside to fully enjoy it; but the view was awesome. Their breakfast area had an amazing view of the lake. The hot tub was nice and big and they also have a sauna! We achieved exactly what we were looking for from this hotel - relaxation.

Room Tip: We reserved under city view and it actually was a view of nothing but the roof/exterior wall.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Kylie J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Right now I'm relaxing in a comfortable bed,yummy s'mores in my throat,overlooking a beautiful lake,waiting for hot breakfast in the morning. All the other hotel don't have private porch. It great! The lady at the front was very rude. It a GREAT

Stayed: October 2013
Thank valleyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valleyfair,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review and rating about our hotel. I'm truly sorry if you did not receive the excellent service we are known for from a member of our team and would like to learn more. I hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. I'm glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will let be our guest again and let us show you this one incident was the exception, not the rule.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Inn On The Lake is comfortable, relaxing, addictive! We stay there at least once a year and are 110% satisfied each time. It costs a lot, but being so close to Lake Superior and Canal Park's restaurants and attractions is worth it. They have remodeled and upgraded their facility recently - it is very nice. In the few times we have had a disappointing experience, the management is very proactive in making amends. We love the Inn On The Lake!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room - we saw a perfectly calm lake, one with crashing waves, clouds hovering over t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane195019681971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Diane195019681971,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've now stayed here twice and loved it both times. The heated rooftop pool is wonderful on a chilly night, and there are countless little touches the hotel offers to make your stay memorable: nightly s'mores, but also a staff member who comes around at breakfast with fresh mini-donuts! (That may be just on weekends, I'm not sure.) They sometimes have free hot cider in the lobby, as well as a fireplace with a fire. There are loaner binoculars in your room, and complimentary pop in the mini-fridge. There was music down in the breakfast area on Friday and Saturday night.

The hotel is right on the shores of Lake Superior and the view from the lake front rooms is fantastic.

Room Tip: You'll be happiest with a third-floor room if you want to use the heated rooftop pool on a chill...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear NMpls,

Thanks for coming back to us and posting your comments. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here an hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £90 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing