We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too busy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 December 2013

If you like staying at a daycare this is your place. It was too busy and loud, pool was over run with kids as were the hallways, not quiet and peaceful at all. Could barley walk threw the lobby it was so packed. And the parking was the same had to park down the street in a city lot and walk at -4 degrees... If you have kids they would like it, if your looking for a adult get away look else where...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Luke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Scrub123,

I am truly sorry you were so disappointed with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies. We want all our guests to enjoy their time here and be happy they decided to stay with us. We take it very seriously when we learn that is not the case, as it is with you. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further and hope you will send us your contact information so we can pursue this personally. I hope you will give us the chance to make amends and regain your respect.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

First real visit to Duluth for a "couples" few days away from it all and we were pleasantly surprised by everything the hotel had to offer. Great location, expert and friendly staff and an endless list of amenities. Cleanliness of the entire facility was top notch. Complimentary breakfast was great and had plenty of variety, plus menu changes daily. Making S'mores on the back patio in 6 degree weather, not including the midnight wind chill from the lakeside a few feet away, was over the top, especially for us Florida residents. Front desk staff were invaluable in offering suggestions on what spots to hit for entertainment; who knew Duluth was a jazz mecca. Also, Canal Street Brewery, which is just down the road, is a must-do experience for anyone who loves craft breweries.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Fritz H,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Got a great rate over a busy holiday period and would have been happy had it been a run-of-the-mill hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the extras: complimentary soda and bottled water in the room, 24-hour coffee and hot chocolate, s'mores in the evening - all of this free of charge! We were in town to visit a college campus, but stayed the evening to see the HUGE Christmas lights display in town. The hotel provided a free shuttle van to and from the lights. This place was soooo much more than run-of-the-mill. It was a comfortable, immaculate, and well-located facility overlooking Lake Superior and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I am in no way affiliated with this or any hotel and have never been so impressed that I've written a review. It's just that great of a place to stay!

Room Tip: If you're not from the area, a lakeside room provides a beautiful view of Lake Superior. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Jason C,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We always stay in this hotel when we visit Duluth. This is one of the best and cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. Love the amenities! The brand new rooms are awesome. It was a great surprise to get a room upgrade this time when we went. Staff at check in was awesome! So glad to see that they brought back the hot chocolate machine. Was nice after walking to bentleyville and back in the cold. Keep up the excellent work! We love visiting there a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Patti K,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your many visits with us. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you and your family here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Check-In staff was professional and very nice. We had a family suite, two queens in one room, a king and couch in one room. Was fantastic to be able to spread out the family. Lots of little touches in the room, real coffee mugs, micro, small fridge with a few complimentary beverages. Very clean and well appointed. Anytime we needed something extra, housekeeping was there in minutes with a smile.
Next door and above us were also guests with children. Never heard a sound and they said they never heard us. The sound proofing in the rooms was fantastic.
Breakfast is well stocked. While it may not be a gourmet breakfast, there is plenty of offerings for everyone. The hot donuts were a surprise.
Our only problem was constant deactivation of room keys. Near a phone or credit card can deactivate them. So keeping them in a purse or wallet was a problem. Staff at least had good humor about reactivating them for us each time.
Great location in Canal Park, never had to drive. 2nd time there, first time since they remodeled. Lobby is pretty cold when you are at the front desk due to outside doors opening so often and wind rushing in but guest room had very good temperature control.
Great place for a family!

Room Tip: We liked being away from the pool in a family suite. Quiet and easier parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeSuperior5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear LakeSuperior5,

Thanks so much for your return visit and for posting your nice review. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and that you and your family were able to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We came up to Duluth for the parade on Friday night and then Saturday we toured bentleyville. What a fun weekend. The parade was fun, loved the free shuttle from the hotel to the Bentleyville display. The warm apple cider hit the spot on Friday after the parade. The s'mores are always a treat! Staff at the hotel are great-Giving helpful tips for everything. Love staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minnegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear minnegal,

Thanks for writing and posting you nice comments. Our annual parade and Bentleyville make this time of year so special, and are glad you had a good time here. I hope you will be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room was lovely, clean, and comfortable! The staff was great. The location is the best. There is a roof top pool and s'mores. We stayed in a bridge view room. What more do you need? The view was good, mostly parking lot, but we paid less for this room. When we left my friends and I agreed that we are now spoiled and will be unable to stay any place else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your review about your recent stay with us. The view of the Aerial Lift Bridge from the bridgeview rooms provides our guests the ability to see ships enter and leave our harbor, and the bridge's movements from the comfort of their own room, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. We are glad to hear you will be back and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £76 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing