We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Big rooms. excellent showers, fine breakfasts, nice service. Complicated hallways made us a little crazy. But the price and the overall quality were excellent. Would highly recommend for quality and price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewitthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear dewitthouse,

Thanks for posting comments about your stay with us. I'm agree that the halls can be a bit confusing and I apologize for the frustration or inconvenience you experienced. We value your business and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We always stay at the Inn on Lake Superior while visiting Duluth. The location, in the Canal district is perfect for walking to see Canal Park, the unique shops and the restaurants. The hotel is always clean and the staff is American and very friendly. The breakfasts have been improved since our visit here last year. Like most of the hotels in thiis area, every evening you can make your own S'mores outdoors on the side of the hotel facing Lake Superior. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SevoinMinnesoto,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when visiting Duluth. I'm glad you like the improvements we've made to the hotel and breakfast and hope you will let us know how we can earn that 5th star from you the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Canal Park in Duluth MN is a northern treasure. One of the best hotels in the area, Inn On "Smores", is our favourite by far. It's obvious at check-in that the property's leadership understands the customer experience and has trained their staff to be personally - authentically - friendly and efficient. You won't hear a generic "have a nice day" from anyone who works at the Inn. The complimentary breakfast is fresh and delicious, with many choices for those of us with health-related food restrictions. Staff also circulate with coffee refills and - surprise - cinnamon mini-donuts to top off the meal. Needless to say, the rooms are immaculate, well-designed and comfortable. We'll be back for more "smores" at sunset.

Room Tip: On a budget? Savings on the "city view" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ideasculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Ideasculptor,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about our hotel. Nikki is a terrific manager and leads us by example in how to make sure every guest has a positive and memorable experience while they are with us. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I cannot say enough about how much we loved it here. We had stayed here years ago and remember it fondly and were super excited to come back – and we were right to be. Awesome location – walking distance to everything in Canal Park or on the front side along with the boardwalk. You can watch ships coming and going right out your window (we had a Lakeside room with a balcony).

Check-in was super efficient and the clerk was very friendly and offered a thorough description of the property and answered any questions quickly. Very knowledgeable.

Lobby is beautiful. Room was amazing. Very nice beds and bedding, tv, nice “wetbar” area, nice shower in the bathroom (no tub), and a great view of the lake. They even provide complimentary pop and water in the fridge and also a pair of binoculars to use in your room. I could not have been happier with the room.

Swimming pool on roof is so neat and they provide big towels. It was very warm, more like a hot tub. Also the swimming pool inside and hot tub were appropriately heated as well. The towels at the indoor pool are super small.

They think of everything. For Smores by the lake they have a basket full of little smores kits ready to go with 2 graham cracker halves, half a Hersheys, and two marshmallows. You could grab as many as you wanted. They also provide the roasting sticks and of course the fire.

Breakfast was also really nice - lots of hot items and the best make your own Belgian waffle stations. It was like being at a real restaurant buffet. The breakfast room has really nice sitting areas and great views of the lake.

I could go on and on – moral is that we loved it and will definitely be back. Ooh, one last thing – I called in several times prior to arrival and also used the online chat feature through their website and Tanya was always very helpful – I hope she can receive acknowledgement for that. Although all ladies at the front desk were amazing too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear trs333,

Mega thanks for writing and posting your wonderfully descriptive and detailed review about your experience here. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your compliments. Tonya is amazing and I'll be sure she is properly recognized for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've been staying at The Inn for over 5 years and it is one of our favorite annual trips. When I asked the family if they wanted to try another location over our March 2014 stay they were appalled I'd suggest staying anywhere else.
As a family of five the two bedroom lakeside suite is our favorite room type as it allows for views of the lake and privacy for mom/dad. All rooms are spacious, clean and service is fantastic. Highly suggest spending the extra money for a lakeside room to watch the ships and the sunrise over the lake. After all isn't that why you are there?
Typically we go to Duluth in the Summer months and this was our first experience being on Lake Superior when it is was still frozen over. We enjoyed the roof top pool and evening s'mores while being surrounded by snow.
The boardwalk and lake are just a few steps from the hotel and it is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Canal Park.
Rooms are spacious, clean and service is fantastic.

Go up the hill to Superior Street to Pizza Luce for great pizza (you can watch them make it) and food in general. We stay away from the Grandma owned restaurants as they were expensive for the quality. There is a Caribou Coffee across the street but hotel has complimentary tea, coffee and coco during the day too.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms 1st floor to be able to walk right out to the boardwalk/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FritzyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear FritzyMom,

Thanks so much for your many years of loyalty and visits, and for taking the time to write and post your great review. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad you know you rely on us for a great time with your family in Duluth. We look forward to serving you again on your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just got back from a three day stay at your hotel and can't wait to get back. We stayed at the Inn because we'd been there before and been very satisfied. The conference rate was the deal breaker. We got a jacuzzi in our room(with safety handles)which made this blue haired old lady very happy. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The coffee was excellent. The weather was nasty but the rooftop pool made up for it. Originally we were booked for two nights but decided to extend our stay and were able to get the conference rate for the additional night. We can hardly wait for an excuse to come back. Thanks for another enjoyable experience

Room Tip: I was having trouble with my online reservation, I just called the hotel ( it was 3am) and the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frammaolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Frammaolson,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us again, and for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations (and "secret" roof top pool!) at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a room by the pool which was noisy at night if you wanted to retire early. Also our sink backed up one morning which made it harder for 4 people to get ready for the day. We did receive a rate adjustment for that night.It is nice and clean with a great view of the lake. Canal Park is a neat place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mike W,

Thanks for sharing comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the problems you had with your sink and apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced. I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with the resolution we offered when you brought this to our attention. I hope you we can regain your confidence in us the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#9 of 31 in Duluth
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £77 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing