We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service, great location, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome service, great location, stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went for a business trip and this was the conference hotel. So glad we stayed here! Rooms were clean, beds very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. The icing on the cake was the nightly s'mores roasted on the patio overlooking Lake Superior. Would recommend for families, vacationers or lucky business travelers!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids get a 2 room family suite. Perfect setup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I8410BXsarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thanks for posting your awesome comments about your recent stay with us.We're always thrilled when guests report how happy they are with the service and accommodations we provide. We value your business and really appreciate your recommendation. I hope you will be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    277
    87
    44
    21
See reviews for
537
372
24
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

we came up for a wedding and also for my husband 50th birthday. It was conveniently located so we could go across Canal Park to the reception without having to drive. I did have champagne and chocolate delivered to the room for my husband's birthday and that was great. They did get the time wrong but quicky got them delivered so it was a surprise.we were in room 318 very very spacious you can look at the city and see a part of the lake I am glad that I changed from pool side to that room and paid the extra money,some of the people in our group had bridge view and weren't that impressed by the rooms and I don't think the rooms were as nice as ours. The staff was so so friendly and whenever we needed something we got an answer quickly the smores were fun the location is great.we like to go to the casino it would have been nice to have a shuttle that would be the only thing that would have made this better.Thank you for a wonderful weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear wbl27,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your wedding and birthday celebrations. I'm sorry about the mix up for the champagne and chocolate delivery and apologize for any frustration or stress you experienced. We do have a shuttle that can take you (and pick you up) anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel, and the casino certainly qualifies. Please feel free to let the front desk know when you want to go, and you can call them when you want to be picked up, the next time you stay with us. We're glad you had a wonderful weekend and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We picked this hotel based mostly on location, and we were not disappointed. Near most of the touristy things. The lake walk is right outside the door. Check in was easy and very friendly. Room was clean and spacious. We had a room with a city view (little bit cheaper) but the breakfast area faces the lake, so you could still admire the view from inside the hotel. The breakfast was also very good. Lot's of options. I found the bed quite comfortable. Would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejmcgillashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Beejmcgillashaw,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging in Canal Park, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Everything and everyone was beyond our expectations. Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Lake view rooms with balcony was awesome. Sunrise gorgeous. The lake walk and the sculptor gardens were so nice. Smore's fun. Harbor cruise really interesting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanSMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear JanSMR,

Thanks so much for staying with us and posting your wonderful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and that we exceeded your expectations for service and accommodations. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibley, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent three days at the Inn On Lake Superior (May 29-June 1). Overall I got a pretty good vibe from the staff. The rooms were okay, but nothing to brag about. Where things turned really bad was when several of the hotel guests (including me) had their cars broken into and there were many items stolen. The manager took notes as we talked to the police officer. There was no apology by the manager. If this was something minor I would have been able to overlook it but I had my car broken into! So as if this wasn't a bad enough experience my in-laws that were also staying at this hotel had their vehicle and several others were broken into the next night! So basically what happened is several of their guests had stuff stolen while it was on their property and they did nothing to up the security. It felt like a slap in the face saying that they didn't care that this happened to SEVERAL of their customers. I will never stay there again. The hotels near by seemed nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kendra175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Kendra,

I am very sorry that you were unhappy with our response to your car incident and do offer my apologies for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced. Guest safety, security and comfort are our top priorities, and we take these responsibilities very seriously. We work closely with local law enforcement authorities and our fellow hoteliers in Canal Park so these things do not recur or continue. We are sorry we failed in your case. I hope you will continue to enjoy Duluth on future visits. Please feel free to contact me (kenjacobs@zmchotels.com) if you'd like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spacious rooms, balcony on the lake, complimentary hot breakfast. Lovely natural and peaceful decor. Easy access to shops, restaurants and downtown area. Great walking path along the lake just outside the door. Comfy rooms with free wifi and plenty of pillows. The free s'mores and sodas were unexpected treats. Convenient microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Nice large bath.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior.
See more room tips
Green Features: Bins for separate waste and green towel policy nice to see.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peege04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear peege04,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review about our hotel. We value all guest feedback and it are very gratified when it's as positive as yours. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Loved the view from our room, the friendliness of staff and our overall experience. The breakfast area set up is efficient and offered a variety of food choices. We were able to eat breakfast and watch boats heading into the harbor. Both senior and family friendly. If we had a question or needed help, the staff at the front desk were amazing!

Room Tip: The elevator is centrally located and accessible. Ask for a room close to the elevators if mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandrC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear SandrC140,

Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay at our hotel! I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and appreciate your compliments about our team. Everyone here wants all our guests to have a great stay and it's nice to hear your positive feedback. I hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing