We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay for 3 nights in July. The rooms were nice and the location was perfect.

First off, the hotel is located right off of the lake. In the morning, if you go down to their free breakfast (more on that later), you can sit out on their patio that looks out to the lake. It's beautiful and it is very relaxing.

As for the breakfast. For once, I think the breakfast description on the website is understated. This is the real deal. We wanted to go to Amazing Grace's for breakfast, but the breakfast setup the hotel provided was so robust, we couldn't justify it. They always have a couple of hot items (one is usually eggs), Belgian Waffles (make your own), a variety of cereals, hot pre-made oatmeal, yogurt varieties and more. There is something for everyone here. In fact, we had a couple of 2 year olds with us that we had no problem feeding.

The pool is decent, the hot tub was fine and they have a sauna. We didn't try out the upper level pool.

My one tip for future guests would be to spend the money and get a lake view room. We were in one of the bridge view cabins and had some trouble with "traffic" very late at night. Some people think it is hilarious to rev up their engines nearing bar close. On two nights, we ran into this issue. The only option to avoid that would be to stay away from Canal Park, and even then, you can't guarantee that wouldn't be a problem. So, spend the extra cash and get the lake-view. And that way you can get the balcony that overlooks the lake. While the sun goes down, it is pretty awesome.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank BigDoerr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear BigDoerr25,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry you were disturbed by traffic noise at night and appreciate your understanding. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort you experienced. I'm so glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and am grateful that you included those positive remarks, too. We value your input and hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed at the Inn many times and it has always been an exceptional experience. I would recommend it to everyone. We recently were there introducing it to family members and they have already said that they want to make it a yearly tradition with us. This particular trip was highlighted and made possible by the exceptional assistance of Nicole. She was instrumental in putting together the details and in making the whole trip possible. Every detail was attended too in a very timely and professional manner. We were totally satisfied. Although everyone was extremely helpful I want to give a special thanks to Nicole for all of her hard work. The Inn is very fortunate to have her on there staff.

Room Tip: ask for a king/sofa room that faces the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Jim B,

Thank you very much for your many visits, for bringing your family here and for taking the time to write and post your review. It's guests like you that make our jobs of providing the best in service and accommodation very rewarding and enjoyable. Nicole is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best with every guest, every day. I'll be sure she received the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to serving you and your family here during future visits to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is one step above a basic property that is located in the heart of Duluth's entertainment district, the Canal Park area. It features great views of Lake Superior, a patio lakeside for watching the sun rise or just kicking back and watching the boats and freighters come and go from the harbor, and two room suites with fridge (complimentary Pepsi and water bottles) and microwave. A medium/large indoor pool and hot tub and adjacent rooms are available. I stayed in room 192, right next to the pool but separated from the pool area by a glass wall that keeps the pool smell in the pool area. Some rooms open directly to the pool area.

Pleasant staff, large, plentiful complimentary breakfast, and great location make this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms adjacent to the pool (like 192) are located outside of the glass wall that surrounds the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Barry R,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope you will let us know how we can earn another star or two when we serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Inn had everything that you could need. It was so family friendly and yet so peaceful. We visited over the 4th of July and it still felt small and private. From the staff to the room, everything was amazing! Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Third floor is best for watching the ships come in. We loved our patio and used it for breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Susan K,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we are thrilled to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel because of price. It was $50. - $100. cheaper that the two hotels on either side. Great location, excellent staff! Two pools, one outside and one inside. The rooms were big and a great view of the lake. The breakfast was excellent and was included with the stay. The hotel stay made our trip to Duluth even better! It isn't a "boutique" hotel, but it had the feel of one.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, which we loved. It was very close to the outdoor rooftop pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SoarMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear SoarMN,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at The Inn over the 4th. Even though the hotel was full, the employees were great, there was plenty of the complimentary breakfast for everyone, the rooms were made up in a timely manner, and the view is awesome.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms with a balcony are the best. Probably the north end of the hotel for the best view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sheri C,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review and rating about your stay with us over the Independence Day weekend. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and appreciate your compliments. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We took a family vacation to Duluth over the 4th of July. It was a fantastic weekend!! We love the location, right on the Lake.
Everything was wonderful. The pool was great, perfect temperature. The breakfast was spectacular! The room was comfortable. One of the nights we just had a pizza night in the room with everyone in our party.
Everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplemustreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear purplemustreign,

Thank you very much for choosing to have your family vacation in Duluth, and for posting your great review about your stay at our hotel. We want all our guests to have a worry free stay so they can create wonderful memories during their time here. We look forward to serving you here again the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 31 in Duluth
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £76 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing