We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Awesome Staff!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We took an impromptu trip to Duluth and didn't have a room reserved. We truly lucked out when the other two hotels we tried were full. Every single member of the staff that we encountered at The Inn treated us like we were the most important guests they have ever had. From the front desk, to housekeeping, to the breakfast staff, to maintenance -- they all were very pleasant and welcoming. We love to stay along the canal because of the convenience walking along the lake and to the local restaurants. Being treated so well made this one of our best trips yet. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Recommend staying lakeside for a quieter room. Poolside you can hear the kids in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Pam B,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with our hotel. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and I'm glad we were able to accommodate you during your recent visit to Duluth. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy and satisfied with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    282
    92
    46
    26
See reviews for
567
385
26
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was an excellent hotel to stay at, very friendly and a lot of "special" things included such as free make your own smores out back every night and free bike rentals. When we needed anything extra brought up to our room it came quickly. One thing that was soooo nice was that the indoor pool was very warm, much warmer than any other hotel pool I've been in, It was nice not to have my 4 year old shiver when he got out. The views are spectacular and it's right by so many things within walking distance. The reason why I gave it 4 stars is that the TV didn't work quite right. It kept shutting off and when i asked for a listing of channels at the front desk, I got a list that did not correspond with the actual channels on the TV. Also, our refrigerator in our room was off balance and so one time it didn't close all the way. Also, the comforter kept slipping off the bed due to the type of fabric. I just asked for another blanket and that worked. But all in all, it was a great place to stay and this hotel would be my first choice for when we go back up there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Becky H,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm sorry for the problems you encountered in your room and apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced. We are working with our television provider to get an accurate channel list, and I'll have our maintenance team look at the set in your room to make any necessary repairs. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate that you included those comments in your review. We value all guest feedback which we use to make improvements to our guest experience. I hope you will continue to let us know how we can serve you best during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The inn is right on the lake. Some of the rooms looked right over the lake! But some of them are right over the indoor pool. When people finally go to sleep, it's not bad, but when you want to sleep in, the kids are pretty loud at 8 AM. The difference between the view of the rooms is not very big on the quality of the rooms. The beds are nice and TV is good and the decor is good. I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Ty C,

Thank you for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise from other guests and offer my apologies. We want all our guest to enjoy all their time with us and we take it very seriously when we learn of any dissatisfaction. We do offer room s in different locations on the property, and with different views. I hope you will I hope you will let us know how we can make you more comfortable the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall this was a great place to stay. However, I do recommend getting a room that looks over the lake and not a pool room if you have the choice. The rooms that look over the pool offer an inside balcony to "look over the pool". However, it's mostly humid and smells like chlorine so we spent no time there. The rooms were of average size, but they were clean. The hotel can be noisy at times. It does offer a full hot breakfast with tables that view the lake. This is on canal park and close to the lift bridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mavis J,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at The Inn on Lake Superior for the 3rd time last weekend. I would have to say it is still the best place to stay when in Duluth. The location can't be beat, the service and staff are top notch. They have nice little touches like smores at night for the kids and bikes that you can use for free. My family love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Fred D,

Thank you very much for coming back to stay with us again, and for posting another great review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay and great service, and really appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Complimentary s'mores at night with a bonfire by the lake was a great added touch. Plenty of breakfast items. They got me in the room early, which was great. We liked the roof top hot tub which only had adults later in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lovethelakes3,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at the Inn for 7 summers in a row now.We combine our business workshops with family vacation. It is very accommodating in both respects.The staff is wonderful and l highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful, clean, and quiet. Lakeside is beautiful, poolside is good for family, and st...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn is very environmental friendly and still accommodates your needs.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Arleen S,

Thank you very much for making us your hotel of choice in Duluth for both business workshops and family vacations, and for taking the time to write and post your review. I'm glad we are able to exceed your high standards for service and accommodations, and really appreciate your great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 33 in Duluth
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing