We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fridley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“good vibes”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Inn is the best place to stay in Duluth. From amenities,friendly staff, terrific rooms and service its hard to beat.Also, breakfast is top shelf..free breakfast,free bicycles rooms a few steps from the canal.Awesome.

Room Tip: always stay lakeside to sit outside your room on your private deck to watch the ships come and go fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geralyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Geralyn P,

Thanks for posting your wonderful comments about our hotel. We value all guest feedback, and it's especially gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    282
    91
    46
    26
See reviews for
564
384
26
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TwinCities
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at the Inn On Lake Superior a number of times over the past decade. The staff and facilities are generally top rate.
Management does timely respond to potential issues and resolves them quickly.

Room Tip: Book early for north facing room on Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear MnTiger,

Thank you for your many visits and nice review. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a terrific experience to every guest. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a clean and comfortable stay in the heart of Canal Park. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel, right on Lake Superior in the Canal Park area. The staff is friendly. There are, however, a few problems. I arrived to check in at 3:15 PM, check in time is advertised to be 3:00 PM. The lobby was filled with unhappy people, after waiting in line 10 minutes for one of the only two check in clerks, I was delighted to find our room ready. Not so for the many people in the lobby, some were told there would be an hour wait as the housekeeping staff had only "started on those rooms". I think whenever rooms are not ready in time there has been a failure in management. It is not like they do not know how many people are checking out and checking in on a particular day. They try to get by with minimal staff and it is not enough at times. Our lake view room was musty smelling, the very large shower stall had very moldy tiles near its floor, the black out curtains had a three inch rip, and the toilet would run on at times. Carpets in the halls and, especially, the stairs were dirty. Breakfast was okay with hot and cold items. Evening had a cook your own smores feature which everyone seemed to enjoy. So great location but a venue that could have some more attentive care.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms cost more but the view is well worth it. Try for the third floor as they may be a l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Just like any other hotel's green practices: hang up your towels to reuse, separate trash for recyclables versus garbage, et cetera.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear jenopac,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about you stay. I'm sorry we didn't do a better job of delivering the excellent guest experience we are known for and apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced. We'd like to learn which room you were in so we can make sure that the housekeeping and maintenance departments can make the necessary repairs and improvements. I'm glad you liked other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those comments in your review. I hope you will let us restore your confidence on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relaitons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We took an impromptu trip to Duluth and didn't have a room reserved. We truly lucked out when the other two hotels we tried were full. Every single member of the staff that we encountered at The Inn treated us like we were the most important guests they have ever had. From the front desk, to housekeeping, to the breakfast staff, to maintenance -- they all were very pleasant and welcoming. We love to stay along the canal because of the convenience walking along the lake and to the local restaurants. Being treated so well made this one of our best trips yet. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Recommend staying lakeside for a quieter room. Poolside you can hear the kids in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Pam B,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with our hotel. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and I'm glad we were able to accommodate you during your recent visit to Duluth. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy and satisfied with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was an excellent hotel to stay at, very friendly and a lot of "special" things included such as free make your own smores out back every night and free bike rentals. When we needed anything extra brought up to our room it came quickly. One thing that was soooo nice was that the indoor pool was very warm, much warmer than any other hotel pool I've been in, It was nice not to have my 4 year old shiver when he got out. The views are spectacular and it's right by so many things within walking distance. The reason why I gave it 4 stars is that the TV didn't work quite right. It kept shutting off and when i asked for a listing of channels at the front desk, I got a list that did not correspond with the actual channels on the TV. Also, our refrigerator in our room was off balance and so one time it didn't close all the way. Also, the comforter kept slipping off the bed due to the type of fabric. I just asked for another blanket and that worked. But all in all, it was a great place to stay and this hotel would be my first choice for when we go back up there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Becky H,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm sorry for the problems you encountered in your room and apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced. We are working with our television provider to get an accurate channel list, and I'll have our maintenance team look at the set in your room to make any necessary repairs. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate that you included those comments in your review. We value all guest feedback which we use to make improvements to our guest experience. I hope you will continue to let us know how we can serve you best during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The inn is right on the lake. Some of the rooms looked right over the lake! But some of them are right over the indoor pool. When people finally go to sleep, it's not bad, but when you want to sleep in, the kids are pretty loud at 8 AM. The difference between the view of the rooms is not very big on the quality of the rooms. The beds are nice and TV is good and the decor is good. I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Ty C,

Thank you for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise from other guests and offer my apologies. We want all our guest to enjoy all their time with us and we take it very seriously when we learn of any dissatisfaction. We do offer room s in different locations on the property, and with different views. I hope you will I hope you will let us know how we can make you more comfortable the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall this was a great place to stay. However, I do recommend getting a room that looks over the lake and not a pool room if you have the choice. The rooms that look over the pool offer an inside balcony to "look over the pool". However, it's mostly humid and smells like chlorine so we spent no time there. The rooms were of average size, but they were clean. The hotel can be noisy at times. It does offer a full hot breakfast with tables that view the lake. This is on canal park and close to the lift bridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mavis J,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 33 in Duluth
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing