We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & Staff”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very friendly & helpful staff. Free parking, free breakfast with a wonderful variety of hot & cold food. Even had a sign for guests to let staff know if someone wanted a gluten free waffle. Can walk right out the back door of hotel to walk along Lake Superior - canal park walkway. Within walking distance of lighthouse, lift-bridge, watching ships come in, restaurants, shops, ....... They have two propane fireplaces with plenty of chairs and tables out back, facing Lake Superior. At night they offer all the fixings to make your own s'mores. We had six people in a room with two queen beds & a sofa. We blew up an air mattress and put that on the pull out sofa bed, as we knew the sofa mattress would probably be thin. It worked out fine with the airbed on top of the sofa mattress. The room was spacious and clean. We asked for more towels and received them almost immediately. Outdoor, rooftop pool was warm and relaxing. Canal Park Brewery & restaurant is a very short walk from hotel, and has views of Lake Superior. Rooftop seating at Grandma's restaurant has views of the lift bridge. This hotel has the perfect location for walking along Lake Superior, watching ships come and go, take a vista fleet boat ride, lots of shops and restaurants, all within walking distance of The Inn On Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, and down different hallways. If you are elderly, or have trouble walking, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheOutdoors14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear LovetheOutdoors14,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your great comments. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    279
    90
    45
    23
See reviews for
549
380
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a one night stay at the Inn on our way to the north shore. We loved the location and our lake view balcony room on the 3rd floor--wonderful. Breakfast was not great---two adults and two teens and none of us ate much. We've eaten many much better hotel breakfasts--this was very, very blah. Other than that, I would stay again (and plan to eat breakfast elsewhere).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Carrie P,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our breakfast and offer my apologies for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. We'd like to learn more about where we failed to give you a great breakfast and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience so we can discuss this further. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived in the middle of a very busy Saturday afternoon right at the start of check-in time. There seemed to be a number of mini-crises that were happening including one family who had been waiting a while for their room to become available. However our check-in was efficient and the desk staff maintained their cool despite the goings on. We appreciated the follow-up call to check up on us after we settled into our room. We did notice that the housekeeping staff were still busy prepping rooms for arriving guests which must have led to some of the chaos downstairs. We didn't have many other interactions with staff during our short stay; in fact the front desk was unmanned when we checked out before 6am.

The hotel facility itself was showing its age (mid-90's) with a bit of wear and tear but not run down by any means. Our room (a suite) did not have a separate room for the bed but still there was a nice separation from the living area owing to the long narrow shape. The free soft drinks in the mini-fridge were a nice touch. Having two pools (indoor and outdoor) is unusual for the class however this is Minnesota so the outdoor one likely has a limited usable season!

The location right between the lakefront and the Canal Park tourist district is perfect for family vacationers and weekenders. However, downtown is probably a better location if your interest leans towards cultural attractions and fine dining. There are several other hotels in Canal Park which all appear comparable so I would definitely shop for price among them.

Room Tip: Lake view is the best however they probably cost more.
See more room tips
Green Features: Earth friendliness seemed to be a theme they advertised however all we noticed was a recycle bin in the room.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Improadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Improadvisor,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. We do have many green initiatives here besides the in room recycling, which include reusable china and silverware at breakfast, CFL lightbulbs, low flow toilets, showers and faucets, plus processes and programs that are eco friendly such as *Efficient ventilation system *ENERGY STAR guest room appliances *Education for guests on green practices *Non-toxic pest control *Staff training on green practices *Toiletries w/ recycled packaging. If you would like more information about our green practices, please contact me. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Inn is our regular hotel for our yearly family vacation. Once again, they made is feel welcome in their great hotel. The rooms, pool, breakfast buffet, and nightly s'mores make great family memories. Already booked for our stay next year!

Room Tip: Rooms have different views...some are Lake view, Bridge view, and City view. We always choose Bridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear MinnesotaCopper,

Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I travel to Duluth on business several times per year. I've only not stayed at the Inn once and it was just not the same. All the rooms are nice and super clean. The staff is great and the breakfast is great plenty of choices. They'll give you a to go bag if your in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear russ R,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when in Duluth, and for taking the time to write and post your nice review. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

A word of caution first: the rooms differ hugely. Some face the lake, some the parking lot (and the bridge) and some the pool. Avoid the pool rooms, they are noisy and have no real outside window. The others are fine.

The hotel is located in the thick of things, with many restaurants in walking distance. Rooms are nice and large, with good beds and clean bathrooms. Breakfast was average.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear terbang,

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we offer a wide variety of room types and locations to meet the needs of our guests. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel, even at full capacity, was amazingly quiet. We had a balcony room and enjoyed looking out at the lake which is always beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was very good. Being right in the middle of the action in popular Canal Park helps too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Rilera,

Thanks for posting your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time here and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing