We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Views!”

Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did this drive with our 3 boys and everyone loved it. Cant beat the views but the traffic can get very heavy and there were some detours from construction. Everyone should do it at least once

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tfi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    182
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

what a view, good road ,great for motor cycles, would'nt want to drive it in the winter though check out the tower

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 666dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent views. Climb the tower. West end of the Seaway... pretty cool!! We saw freighters in the ice. Pretty cool!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dewitthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nature at it's finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lighthouses and waterfall, what's not to love? Beautiful drive along Lake Superior, with lots of great places to stop and explore. I didn't bring my bicycle this trip, but there is a wonderful bike path along the drive, (not on the shoulder) that looks wonderful. My only complaint is the border. I remember going to Canada without an issue. Now when you do, you are treated as if you are a criminal when you return, having to answer questions that imply that you shouldn't have left your country, but since you did, you must have done something wrong, and please unlock your car doors so that we can open and go through your stuff just to make sure. Jeez. What happen to our liberties? And innocent until proven guilty. Apparently going into another country means you give up your rights.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bbrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
460 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Beauty at Every Turn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We drove from Duluth to Grand Portage. This drive is absolutely gorgeous! There are state parks and turn-offs along the whole thing, and every single one worth stopping at. It could easily take a week to do full justice to the drive. We stopped at Gooseberry Falls SP and could have happily stayed all day, and could have spent another half-day at the Split Rock lighthouse. We were there in summer, but I imagine it's always beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing