We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Passing through Duluth my husband and I decided to stop for the night. We found the Voyageur Lakewalk, and signed in. The room was a double and cost $79.00 for the night. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We didn’t really check anything out other than the shower. It had hot water and clean towels. We slept well with the exception of some road noise but that was expected.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

As long as you don't want to sleep the place is passable . Both weekend night 3 gang loads of cars pulled into parking lot ,yelled ,swore ,opened and closed doors ,and basically partied . There is a caretaker on sight who had the phone off the hook or was getting too many calls but the people were never told to leave ,or police called . Left after a couple of hours on there own .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

From service upon arrival to cleanliness of our room we were very pleased! The room (king jacuzzi/fireplace) wasn't perfumed to smell clean, it just was. The location was perfect (for us), a block from Fitger's Brewery and steps from The Lakewalk. Most rooms appeared to have a pretty decent view of the lake. All in all, we're impressed!! Stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk for two nights midweek in Sept. The price for a room with two queen beds was $79 plus tax which seemed pretty reasonable considering the downtown location and the good view. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. The wi fi was fast enough. They have a patio overlooking the street and lake. It was pleasant to sit and watch the view. There was no breakfast, but they did have coffee and a small danish available in the lobbby.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A friend suggested this place and I thought I'd give it a try. The reviews seemed decent enough and I was traveling alone, on a budget. I paid about $100/night after taxes for a room with 2 queen beds on a Friday and Saturday in the middle of July.

The service was friendly and adequate. My room was clean and didn't and smelled neither of bleach nor anything nasty. Average room size with a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., etc. The roof deck and the free parking are probably the lone amenities of interest, but for $100/night in the middle of summer in Duluth in a prime location, I'm not complaining.

The motel is very close to the Fitger's Brewery Complex and not far from a bunch of other downtown and Canal Park spots. I was able to walk to both Canal Park & the Bayfront Festival grounds without batting an eye. It's a safe neighborhood. I wouldn't hesitate to walk around the area during the day or at night. With the A/C on (it was HOT in Duluth this summer), I slept well and didn't hear anyone above me or on either side. I did hear a few cars in the morning, but nothing that bothered me.

As for hookers and drug dealers... didn't see any. Where do people get these ideas?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43323Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn several times in the last few years....we keep going back for the following reasons: staff and owner have always gone over and above for our comfort; the location is excellent (walking distance to downtown stores and Canal Park); the accomodations are clean; good value for your dollar; patio access overlooks the lake and adds immensely to your enjoyment, whether it be morning, afternoon or night (this luxury would not be available at hotels that cost three or four times more). We highly recommend this establishment to anyone who is travelling through the Duluth area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed in Duluth for a night on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. Nice location right downtown and an easy walk to the very expensive canal park area. Clean, average sized rooms. Could use an update. "Breakfast" is donuts and coffee. Great roof top deck that overlooks the lake and downtown. Deck closed at 11 pm. Friendly staff - front desk girl came out while we were parking the bikes and gave us wooden pads to put under the stands so we wouldn't sink into the hot asphalt and a guy put bright orange cones around the bikes so nobody would back into them. We greatly appreciated that thoughtful touch! We felt very safe at all times and we were out late. The only problem was finding the place as the street was closed off due to a festival, so we had to take a round about way in. Would stay here again. Was really hot and humid while we were there, and the AC kept the rooom cool enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: £57 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing