We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cabin For the Price of A Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Cabin For the Price of A Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I wanted to rent a cabin, but didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars. The non-smoking queen jacuzzi suite is a nice compromise. The jacuzzi is in great condition. This suite doesn't have a fireplace. The smoking room and the penthouse suites do have fireplaces. The TV is old, but hopefully you won't be using that. There is a small fridge, microwave, and desk in the room.

We stayed on New Year's Eve. It was so cold, the steam from the jacuzzi formed a seal of ice around the door. The room is right above the front desk, so the staff called to ask if we needed help once they heard us chipping away at the ice. The front desk person pushed the door in from the outside. Once we got out of the room, she helped us again by supplying jumper cables.

The motel is walking distance to Fitgers. I recommend the Duluth Grill for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotasFavoriteVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    55
    35
    12
    20
See reviews for
20
64
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here the days after Grandmas Marathon. Can't beat the location right downtown. One of the rooftop areas has great views of the lake. Motel is old and could use some updating. Didn't have a bath for our child which proved a little difficult but we made it work. If you don't plan on spending too much time in your room, which I would not recommend while in Duluth, it is good for the price. Local bars are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloberda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This motel is right in town and a convenient location for a good price. Our standard king room was very clean, well furnished and surprisingly large. There's a nice rooftop patio area with tables and chairs that has a good view of Lake Superior. It's on a hill so the parking was opposit the third floor. That parking was limited and if it was full, a covered garage was on the other side of the driveway for additional free parking. It was convenient and well thought out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Opened my door and was met with a smelly room and horse flies. I made my way across the filthy carpeting to the bathroom, & when I opened the shower door it almost fell off. The tile in the shower was stained and dirty. At this point there was no doubt I'd not be staying; thought I'd just peek at the bedding- looked like it had not be washed, but rather just pulled back and re-made. The overall interior was old, tired, and soiled. Back at the front desk I simply told the gal that "I can't stay here", and she credited my card. Immediately checked in at another hotel - granted for much more - and promptly washed my hands. Ish. Just tellin' it as I saw it.

Room Tip: To chose a good room book at another hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelly76intheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The motel has a nice view from the viewing deck and it's easy to find at the north end of downtown. Not much parking on the main level with no reserved parking near your door. You have to drive up around the back of the motel and park and walk down. Room was clean but shabby. The bedspreads had burn holes. The shower stall needed a good cleaning and one light blinked off and on for the first couple of minutes you turn it on. Was not worth the price compared to what we stayed in up at Grand Marais for the exact same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnesotan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here recently, and the well-tended flowers suggested care for the place, and that was correct. It was clean and they had 'no pet' rooms, so those with allergies will be pleased. One review said there were fleas, but that was untrue. There were lots of cleaning staff around, and the desk person was very pleasant and helpful. You can walk to all the restaurants in Canal Park, and quite a ways along the lake. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stopped here because we like the more 'mom/pop' places over big names. We (two couples on a fishing trip) were traveling to another town and couldn't check in until a day later so this was not a planned stop that we had researched; but did a quick look on our phone for motels while in our car. Their site had said rooms with a lake view & thought we'd give it a try. We were greeted by a very friendly staff which is the right way to start a stay. Unfortunately, they didn't have any rooms that were lake view (apparently most do not have), but we had two of the standard rooms that were pretty clean and the bed was comfortable; although my wife did point out the room was a cookie cutter motel room, one picture on the wall, just plain (other family owned places seem to be more homey) and the a/c was pretty loud but after awhile we kinda got used to it, and we're heavy sleepers . The location was good, again, we were just there for a night as a pit stop, but it was within walking distance for us to go to eat and take a walk around to relax at night. Overall, if we need to stop for a night in the area we will stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perchman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#22 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Property: Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing