We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“spectacular spot”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our first time at the South Pier iNN and it won't be our last. We were right on water ,in a huge living room with a fireplace and big Jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom was nicely done with great bedding and pillows. We were a one minute walk to the arial lift bridge and then another 3 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. We were so close and yet so far from the busyness of the commercial district. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Duluth!

Room Tip: i can't imagine that there would be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    90
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
262
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel took me by surprise. It was wonderful! The location couldn't be better -- right next to the lake -- within easy walking distance to the popular restaurants and shops.

When I first walked in -- I thought -- how can the hot tub be next to the window?. It is 40 degrees out and windy, surely it is going to be drafty and cold. But no! They use special windows that block noise and leaking air (they said the windows were the same kind that they use near airports to block sound). There was an easy to use fireplace that you turn on and off with a light switch. A balcony that you could sit outside and watch the bridge and ships. In room coffeemaker, and refrigerator too.

Also, I am a clean and smell "freak" I have moved hotels and rooms more than once because rooms have smelled -- this room was fantastic! No odor whatsoever and SUPER clean. This property definitely gets an A+

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loribelieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in Duluth. Both my husband and myself are a big fan of watching the ships go through canal so this is the best location in the city. We also enjoy being able to walk to shops and restaurants in canal park. We usually stay in a waterfront suite however this being a "special event weekend" it was over our budget. We did stay in a balcony guest room. Excellent service as always from the staff. The weather permitted us to go outside to watch the ships go through canal. If you are on a budget the balcony guest room is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a weekend in mid October, couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, the view was amazing, and it was in walking distance of all the great restaurants and stores in Canal Park. We had a canal view room with a fireplace and Jacuzzi, it was worth every penny. It was so enjoyable sitting in a cozy room, and watch the big ships go by. We didn't really take part in the continental breakfast, we were looking for something more sustainable to fill us till lunch. We cant wait to plan another romantic getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here based on Trip Advisor ratings. Very nice rooms and bathrooms. The day was windy and rainy so getting to our room was a little wet as all entrances are from the parking lot. Continental breakfast was the best on our circle tour of Superior. Excellent coffee and pastries. Location is very close to many restaurants on Canal St. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisswa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed at a number of Canal Park hotels and this is by far the best. Suggest the second floor Canal facing suites but anything on the water is great. Clean rooms, friendly staff and super close to the bridge and the restaurants. Be sure to check out the ship schedule since they pass right in front of the rooms..awsome. Lots of little details not found in big chains like binoculars makeup mirrors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genpattco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed here in early august. we had a room on the 2nd floor with the water view. it was incredible. the room had a fireplace, hot tub, walk out balcony, and large windows overlooking the water. all nice furniture, very clean room. we will stay here again. also a short walk to the canal park area

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brett z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing