We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fine for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just fine for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First time at South Pier Inn; stayed in a parking-lot facing balcony room. Our main purpose in visiting Duluth was skiing so we just wanted something inexpensive, clean, and quiet. South Pier fit all of these requirements nicely: the room was a step above basic--clean, bright, quiet, just enough space. Decor/furnishings are clean in design which makes the room seem larger than it is. Balcony would have been nice to use in warmer weather. Bathroom looked spotlessly clean except for one easily remedied problem: the wallpaper above the bathtub was mildewed where it met the shower surround. Otherwise, I didn't see any mildew in the bathroom. Also, parking seemed tight: the hotel had vacancies for both of the nights we stayed but both nights, we got the very last parking spot when we returned from dinner. If the hotel was full, I'm not sure where we would have parked.

Room Tip: Some of the parking-lot facing rooms have a view of the aerial lift bridge. If you're not spendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    87
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
250
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We've stayed at the South Pier Inn before, and with it being winter, decided to return. This hotel is not cheap, and they don't negotiate their rates, so don't stay here if you're on a budget (we had the Canal View whirlpool suite, $177/night). What they do offer is a clean, well maintained property, and a very relaxing stay. Situated just over the Arrowhead bridge from Canal Park, it is walking distance from everything in Canal Park and downtown. After walking around outside in the cold weather, it's so nice to come back to our room and enjoy a beverage I the hot tub while looking out at the canal. The beds are comfortable, and the hotel is nice and quiet so it's a very restful place to stay. Breakfast is fruit, yogurt, and a variety of pastries from a local bakery (the donuts are VERY good!). Looking forward to our next visit here.

Room Tip: We like the canal view room since we can see the ships go under the Arrowhead bridge not 100' fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a review from the HSP (highly sensitive person, google Elaine Aron's work if you don't know it.) point of view:

Room was relaxing and simple in it's arrangement, which was up a flight of stairs. Peaceful setting with the fireplace. The place was clean and well tended. Sheets were soft and fragrance free. No smelly cleaners were in the air. Sadly, I am super allergic to dogs and cats so I very much appreciate knowing they do not stay in these rooms.

Canal side room has an unparallelled view of the bridge and the canal. Keep in mind that is not such a big thing if no ships pass by; then it's just a view of a channel. One of the only thoughtful marks of my interaction with the front desk staff was getting help reading the ship schedule that they had printed and handy. There were about 3 ships a day while we were there, none of which we were around to see unfortunately. If I stay here again, I will plan my time to be able to see at least one ship move through the canal and right past the Inn.

Also, at least half of the rooms face in the direction of the canal and bridge which is noisy. Cars make a distinctive noise as they cross it and if you are sound sensitive you WILL notice this. Do not know if it is as audible on the "neighborhood side." BTW-that means you look at the parking lot.

Breakfast had a range of low sugar carbs, no higher protein foods. Coffee, tea and juice options offered too.

If you need/want darkness to sleep, bring a sleep mask if you are in a canal/bridge facing room. The waterfront is rather lit up and the vertical blinds do not keep out the light.

Just across the street is public access to walk the beach of Park Point which is fantastic in all seasons. The ice shelves in the winter are pretty amazing to see. Of course Canal Park is
just over the bridge going the other direction. Another friend got a room right in Canal Park 30% less than the rate here, so it is work checking around. Either way, at the Inn we parked the car and didn't use it at much during our stay because we
and could easily walk to a lot of great spots.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Beautiful suite and very clean. The suite has a panoramic view and a nice balcony. South Pier is next to the Canal Bridge and it's an awesome sight at night. If you're lucky you might see the bridge rise and a ship pass through it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I see that a couple is angry for the Dog thing that happened, but like they said themselves they did not read the rules of the Place and thus needed to adhire to the rules or go elsewhere, they made the choice to stay ad pay then asked for things to come back afterwards. Each time they made a decision it was up to them, they seem to write in discust weather by accident or thinking they would just sneak the dog in there are many , many more dof owners that did read the rules and leave their dogs away. The Vies are great, the Boats are some of the largest in the oceans and its the experience of a lifetime each time you see this historical city, view of the largrest Clean drinking water lake in the world, the most frsh drinking water in 1 place is the lake superior water. The Lift bridge is a historical site to see, I remember decades ago when you could go up on the bridge we did when I as small back in the 1970's and took the small boat tour in the harbor also. Can remember all it like it was yesterday. A lot of people sign up to be at these places to stay especially when they have 2 large 4th of july sites in and near the bay, its awesome and the August biker Jazz Fest in Early august is one of the best around, Duluth is quite the coty and it will remind you very mush of san Francisco with its brick streets and high roads like san fran in the edge of this Mn Mountain just on the south side with some of the best skiing you can have , may Olympic skiers have been on these Mountain runs for practice to make the Olympics and the train buffs and even surfers in the Summertime from all over the world surf the lake in June about 20 miles up from Duluth, the historic valus are endless and the feeling around Duluth is something you don't forget anytime soon, Many Olympic and world class events sports are held there The Curling champion chips are up there again this year in their curling arena the history behind the trains of travel and those used in the minning days some you can rent small cars for your own ride up near two harbors and ride back to Duluth. Your missing out in wintertime from things you can photograph that you will never see anywhere else in the world. and you also if camping in and near fuluth you need to know your in far northern MN and its very woodsy and there are bears and animals that like to be around once ina while if camping, so always be aware of this most places have cabins from trees huge that were buildt from that area. Enjoy your positive experience, enjoy the ships coming and going from this hotel your the closest one to the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Krenzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I spent a three night, midweek getaway at South Pier Inn. We booked a deluxe waterfront king (702, top floor): three room suite (living room, bedroom, bath), with a stunning, multi-window view of Duluth Harbor. Microwave, fridge, whirlpool, shower, tv’s in living room and bedroom, and gas fireplace.
Clean as a whistle, tastefully decorated. Wicked fast wi-fi.
There’s enough to browse in Canal Park (a short walk across the lift bridge), that we didn’t get much farther afield in the city. A few Canal Park stops we enjoyed:
The Northern Waters Smokehaus in the Dewitt Seitz Marketplace makes signature sandwiches to die for.
The Canal Park Brewing Company is a great stop for a local craft beer.
The shops up and down Canal Park were such a nice mix of speciality, galleries, camping, candy, decorating, dining, and antiques that one of us was always lost in a browsing haze.

The Inn offers a good mix of beverages and pastries in the morning, but we were enticed away to the Duluth Grill for breakfasts. Went there once based on it’s reputation and wound up going back every morning.
Our last night we ordered gourmet pizza from Vitta Pizza in Canal Park (highly recommend!), uncorked a bottle of wine, turned on the fireplace, and enjoyed the twinkling lights on the harbor.
The staff was uniformly terrific. A special shout-out to Brandon who met every request with humor, efficiency, and class.
The South Pier Inn is where we’ll stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our first time at the South Pier iNN and it won't be our last. We were right on water ,in a huge living room with a fireplace and big Jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom was nicely done with great bedding and pillows. We were a one minute walk to the arial lift bridge and then another 3 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. We were so close and yet so far from the busyness of the commercial district. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Duluth!

Room Tip: i can't imagine that there would be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing