We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Belen, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven away from home”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This place is beautiful and a little piece of heaven away from home. I have never in my life seen a more beautiful yet peaceful establishment. Again, feels like a piece of heaven away from our home.I would recommend any one I know to stay in this gorgeous place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgregg031211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    87
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
250
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We love this hotel! It is so nicely designed and comfortable, and the staff is exceptional. The views are lovely and the location is perfect. We walked to canal park for shopping and dinner, and it was great - even in Duluth in January!

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are wonderful, but even the ones on the neighborhood side have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent last weekend at this hotel and I cannot say enough positive things about it! We went with the suite and it was such a treat to have a fireplace and whirlpool in our room. We were in room 201 and had such a great view of the lift bridge and the water, even for being on the first floor. Our room was impeccably clean and it was very quiet, although I know they were mostly booked up! The breakfast that they provide is very limited, but that is not why you book here, you book for the view and the very nice room and accommodations!

Room Tip: A waterfront view is one of the best parts of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Spent an amazing weekend with the hubby last weekend. This hotel was gorgeous! The suite has a corner whirlpool tub which views a fireplace and gorgeous view of the beautifully lit arial lift bridge. The staff were so friendly and knowledgable about things to do and of course shopping!! The shower was spacious with plenty of hot water and even the soaps and shampoos were fancy! The owners even spend time in the lobby chatting with guests. It's a very warm friendly environment that was so pleasant to be in. I would highly recommend staying here. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

In the heart of Canal Park sits this amazing gem of a hotel!!! We stayed in a suite, room 201 to be exact and what spectacular views!! Not to mention to view OF the room (whirlpool tub, fireplace, comfy beds!!!!). I couldn't say enough good things about the hospitality and accommodations that this hotel offers. Second to none. They really make you feel welcome and appreciated!!! Check it out for yourself. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a very nice place to stay while in Duluth. It is privately owned and the owners are often present. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous.

Our room (#502) was comfortable, and well maintained. The room included a coffee maker, small refrigerator, whirlpool tub and a gas fireplace. They have wi-fi but in our room it did not work well, often dropping the connection.

Being late February, there were no ships passing through the harbor, but our waterfront room had an awesome view of the Duluth skyline and lift-bridge, especially at night.

The included continental breakfast was good and consisted of rolls, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee. You could get coffee and cookies almost any time of the day.

We will stay here again next time we stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the parking lot so be sure you specify a harbor view if that is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoleCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our visit was brief; we stayed only one night as our destination was the ice caves. That being said, the rooms are very clean, bright and very comfortable. The thread count as well as bathroom towels were above average. The morning we were to check out my car wouldn't start and the receptionist was nice enough to call Dale (one of the owners) and he came over within 10 minutes with jumper cables to try to get us going; but to no avail. He stayed out there with us in the cold and wind for good 30 minutes. Very rarely do you come across that kind of generosity. He was even reluctant to give up and kept wanting to try, "one more time". Needless to say, the next time we are in Duluth, whether we are passing through or not, we will look for availability here, first. Thank you, Dale. (One small suggestion I do have is to play some light background music during breakfast so as to reduce the unavoidable eve's dropping as it can get pretty quiet.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing