We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Duluth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place is just perfect. They have the best views, friendly staff, amazing rooms, great prices, and not too touristy. There are fireplaces in many of the rooms and Jacuzzis. I only hope this does not get too popular and then I won't be able to get a room next time!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a lake or canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. Customer service is exceptional. We were made to feel very welcome. Our Lakeview room was nice & bright with a great view of the Aerial Lift Bridge. Enjoyed the continental breakfast & afternoon coffee & cookies. Easy walk across the bridge to plenty of shopping & restaurants. Will definitely stay here again if we are back in Duluth.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustJanet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here while on a winter get a way. The staff was very nice and accommodating to all of our needs. We had a problem with the TV in our room and they switched us to another room. I liked the fact that there is not a long hallway to go through. Convenient parking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Recently stayed here after reading trip advisor reviews. This was a quiet stay, easy access to lots of Duluth. It was winter, so we weren't walking anywhere but it would be an easy walk across the lift bridge to restaurants. The rooms were clean, quiet and the staff very nice. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This place is beautiful and a little piece of heaven away from home. I have never in my life seen a more beautiful yet peaceful establishment. Again, feels like a piece of heaven away from our home.I would recommend any one I know to stay in this gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgregg031211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We love this hotel! It is so nicely designed and comfortable, and the staff is exceptional. The views are lovely and the location is perfect. We walked to canal park for shopping and dinner, and it was great - even in Duluth in January!

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are wonderful, but even the ones on the neighborhood side have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent last weekend at this hotel and I cannot say enough positive things about it! We went with the suite and it was such a treat to have a fireplace and whirlpool in our room. We were in room 201 and had such a great view of the lift bridge and the water, even for being on the first floor. Our room was impeccably clean and it was very quiet, although I know they were mostly booked up! The breakfast that they provide is very limited, but that is not why you book here, you book for the view and the very nice room and accommodations!

Room Tip: A waterfront view is one of the best parts of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £95 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing