We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$129
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$127
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
US$158
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
329
97
19
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
97
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslift bridgepanoramic suiteacross the bridgehot tub and fireplacecontinental breakfastships passinghuge shipsshort walkdvd playerplace to stayview of the waterliving roomdonutsprivate balconyyogurtfantastic locationparking lot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed here 3 times over the past few years. Last visit was about a month ago. This is one of the cleanest inns we have stayed at over the years. Rooms right next to aerial lift bridge so view of ships going in and out is great. Balcony nice size. Room had Jacuzzi, fireplace, sitting area, refrigerator etc. Bed very comfortable. Nice continental breakfast. This is a family run inn. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Have stayed in winter also with no ships to look at. Very warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank loveinns03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel based on reviews here. Yes it is expensive but worth every penny in my opinion. We had never been to Duluth and wanted to see Lake Superior. You feel like you have Lake Superior in your back yard and the inn is adjacent to the Aerial Bridge. The
Hotel will call you when a vessel is passing so you don't miss the bridge raising. There are several paths here so you can view the lake from different areas and the inn makes it easy to walk across the bridge to area restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank ArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice, small place with terrific views of the lift bridge and harbor from your room. Perfect location--close access to some of the best places to eat in town and the canal park area. Clean and comfortable rooms. Worth getting a bridge side room.

Room Tip: 202 was a fantastic room. Anything w/ a bridge view would be great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jenshoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So many great things about this boutique-type hotel. First, the architectural style and the setting are so picturesque. Great location...removed from the touristy area by the canal and bridge but close enough to walk. The peolpe that worked there were so very nice and eager to help. I did not have a bridge or harbor view but could see the lake from my balcony window. They have a complimentary breakfast and items are available all day. The rooms were nice, clean, and had everything you could need...coffee pot and coffee, hair dryer, mini fridge, iron and board, etc. I would stay here over the overpriced, bigger hotels right on the lake.

Room Tip: If you want the great view you need to pay for it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 167mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First let me say two things: 1) I rarely write reviews of places, and 2) I would stay at the South Pier Inn again in a heartbeat! I booked a Harbor View Room for 3 nights. The room had an OUTSTANDING view, tons of windows, a LARGE bathroom, a shower, a jacuzzi, a fireplace and a refrigeratori! Each harbor side room also have a small but private balcony that allow you to sit outside enjoying the beautiful views. So Awesome! The room and hotel were also very clean. I also appreciated the fact that they allowed the guest to have towels and linens changed daily or not (I opted not to have them changed during my stay). The staff was warm and friendly and accommodating. The entire experience allowed me to have a wonderful change of scenery and a very relaxing stay. LOVE the South Pier Inn!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a harbor view or channel view room if you want a view other than the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Caron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews