We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location ”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Our room was clean and romantic. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace. The view was amazing. You are situated right by the lift bridge. It's also very quiet and within walking distance to canal park. The only complaint I would have is for the price you pay they should give you more for your buck. Better breakfast, fruit basket, slippers, just something. I suppose maybe they think the view is worth the price. Even with that said it is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    89
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
256
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
271 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

South Pier Inn is located immediately across the Lift Bridge: walking distance to the Canal Park area but also slightly removed. Smaller, very friendly staff, modest free breakfast, clean rooms with views, jacuzzis and fireplaces. Rooms with higher numbers (700+) face the inner Western Harbor--no lift bridge view, but also quieter--no lift bridge traffic hum and much quieter for boat horns. We would return.

Room Tip: Higher numbers--700+--face the inner Western Harbor--still good views and much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place has it all: Close to restaurants and shops, Huge ships coming through the canal just yards from the hotel, close to the beach for walking and swimming, lift bridge just out the door, beautiful rooms. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the South Pier Inn in June 2014. We had a nice suite. It had a great view of the harbor/Bay. It was very clean. A very short walk to everything in Canal Park. Right over the bridge and we were having cocktails at Grandmas! We were able to sit out on our balcony and watch sailboats. The staff was amazing. One thing to keep in mind. The bed is REALLY noisy. Just sayin......We will stay here again. I'm not sure what they have for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigjude007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We splurged on the upper panoramic view and are thrilled we did. To see the Canal Bridge being raised and watch the ships and boats come in and out - what could be better? The suite was very comfortable with a fluffy down comforter and cozy pillows. Probably the best night of sleep I've gotten in a hotel room. Bathroom clean with high-end finishes, convenient nightlights, binoculars, telescope. We especially enjoyed the small balcony. The ONLY drawback is that the breakfast is very puny and staff service was spotty. However, we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Splurge for the canal view or panoramic suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I came here with my boyfriend, and we weren't looking for a hotel crowded with kids and something very quiet and we were very satisfied with our choice. It was right across the lift bridge so at any hour of the day/night you had beautiful views. The whirlpool was amazing and very relaxing. The beds were pretty comfortable. Even though the room was pretty small, it was perfect size for two people looking for a relaxing getaway. The bathroom though was really big with a separate shower. also, there was a makeup mirror which I adored!!! and a little chair so you can sit down and do your hair/makeup. Overall: We loved this place and will DEFINITELY be coming back.

Room Tip: 1101 was a great room with a whirlpool and amazing view of the side facing opposite of bridge, but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emaleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Duluth has created a tourist district, Canal Park, with many shops and restaurants. The district ends at the famous Lift Bridge, beyond which there are only private houses. Except for the South Pier Inn, which sits exactly at the end of the bridge. The view is unique and wonderful, it is a 2-minute walk to the tourist district, but it is quiet, quiet, quiet. A small place and it fills rapidly for any festival or holiday. But if you can get in, it is nearly perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoffregen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing