We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and romantic retreat on a blustery June weekend in MN”
Review of Cotton Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cotton Mansion
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and romantic retreat on a blustery June weekend in MN”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a most enjoyable weekend at Cotton Mansion. We stayed in the Rose Room.
The innkeepers were a real delight. We will definitely return. Thanks again, Ken and Kimberly exceptional hosts and a beautiful home. Food was delicious, and atmosphere great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DnSJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annmeyers, Owner at Cotton Mansion, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a bit blustery, wasn't it. We are happy you were warm and comfortable here. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    10
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We felt very welcomed from the time we stepped foot at the Cotton Mansion. The owner greeted us and shook our hands and was very pleasant. She then showed us around the gorgeous interior. A nice spread of wine, cheese, grapes, and cookies welcomed us. We stayed in the Rose room which we were very happy with. Breakfast was very delicious. Fresh fruit to start with then our main dish which was stuffed French toast and sausage the first day and eggs benedict the second day. The interior is very well kept up and one of the most beautiful I've stayed at. We enjoyed playing chess in the library and just having a nice relaxing time away from the kids. The only surprise was there were no refreshments to help your self to in the evening, however, there were cups in the bathroom for water.

Room Tip: If a whirlpool is not important to you the Rose room is a great option for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Cotton Mansion over the Grandma's Marathon weekend in 2013. We enjoyed a wonderful, calm, and quiet stay. The mansion is full of character and beauty. The owners are so nice and welcoming. The food was great! I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Mansion for the second time in as many years. It was a wonderful time away for me and my wife. I have multiple allergies but they were great at making everything right and taking care of my special requests. I would recommend a weekend getaway in the Summer or Winter! Any room in the Carriage house is a must see.

Room Tip: Any room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. This was the first night of our honeymoon and it hands down beat all the other B&B's where we stayed. This place has so much character and beauty. Our stay was awesome! We spent time playing chess in the library downstairs and the staff were wonderful about giving us suggestions for food without being too intrusive as we were on our honeymoon. This was definitely our favorite stay of the entire honeymoon. A trip to Duluth is not complete without a stay at the Cotton Mansion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyroboyx42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We wnet with our octogenarian parents for a little get away. It is a beautiful old home and appears to be very will kept. We had one room upstairs in the main house, I believe the James room. Open and spacious, very nice. The bed was a bit small and tall for elderly people. Lovely terrace. We stayed in the Crriage house in a wonderful and spacios room with a great bathroom. Quiet and nice, big bed, comfortable. We were very happy. The stairs are steep and narrow and elderly people, or people with any issues or perhaps kids with stuff may have a small problem.
The main parts of the house are open and useable and lots of options for leisure in home time. The breakfasts were well prepared and very well planned. The staff and owners are very accommodating. The main house has one grand staircase and our parents had trouble. They could only go up once a day with help. There is no elevator, or wasn't then. I cannot say if there in now. But the brought their breakfasts up to our parents so they could dine on the paito which was adorable, rather than dooing the stairs again. All in all great!

Room Tip: When choosiing a room work with the staff. Ask a lot of questions. Every room and bathroom is differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meema21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our first visit to Duluth - and a lovely B & B in which to stay. Beautifully restored on the inside, and we were enjoying our tour until a midwest storm crashed through, and knocked out all our power, and that of the neighborhood around us. Then the house felt almost like a haunted house, and we used the light of the overhead skylight in the stairwell to guide us to the main floor. When we returned after dinner, all was restored! Charming owners who served a delicious breakfast of watermelon with blueberries for the seeds, and yummy lemon/berry French toast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the larger rooms. We were in a smaller room, the sunset suite, in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.5 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Mansion

Property: Cotton Mansion
Address: 2309 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1808
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's premier Historic Inn, located in the heart of Duluth's Historic Mansion District, minutes from Canal Park and the North Shore. Specializing in honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Mansion Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing