We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other B & B”
Review of 7 West Tap House

7 West Tap House
Ranked #23 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Mpls
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The other B & B”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When you see B&B you're inclined to think Bed & Breakfast. In this case I'm thinking Beer & Burgers. Which brings me to this most pleasant find on a recent trip to the North Shore. A good go-to place will never go out of style. If you're a "hophead" who believes a craft beer is always better when partnered up with a fresh grind burger not a processed previously frozen hockey puck and fresh-cut fries done to order, welcome to your new "happy place". Nothing fancy about this place and really when you think about it, it's not the reason people like this place. When you got close to 40 taps of craft options and a good portion of them are local brews, great burgers, and a crew that makes you feel at ease, and prices that are reasonable, what's not to like.Another perk about the place is that they have some great gear which isn't available yet online. Granted this maybe a smart marking ploy to get people to come and see what I'm talking about. So give' em a try and if we ever meet join me for a pint and discuss ways to fix all the stuff that wrong in the world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Burgers and Beer Selection”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Wow, great burgers and at least 30 tap beers plus bottled beers. Micro brews are their specialty. Fries are fresh cut right before going into the frier. No frozen burgers here, fresh meat pressed right on the grill. Service is fast and friendly. Prices are super reasonable - 3 pint beers, burger, and fries for $20. Flat screen TVs all around to watch the games. Highly recommend this place for a fun time. Menu is burgers, wraps, and salads. They have 7-8 seasonings for the fries and chips.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BetaGuardPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This place has awesome food and the service was great. It's worth having to find a place to park which is almost never fun on Superior st. I do think lunch is easier then dinner for that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairenicole87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good beer selection, quick service”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A good burger joint with a few other items on the menu in downtown Duluth. The food is good, while not great, but I was impressed that everything was cooked to order. We sat at the bar and had a good view of the grill area and were amazed to watch them make fresh potato chips and fries for every order. The burgers are not frozen but made fresh and cooked to order and offer a nice variety of burgers. The selection of beers on tap was extensive, but we were disappointed that our beers were not as cold as they could have been – not sure if there was a problem with the tap lines or they our glasses were filled right after cleaning them. Been there once, not sure we need to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lm55417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome IPAs OK Food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

If you are into great beers and unique IPAs, this is your place. If you want unique food or even Great food, this is probably not your place. They have 40 micro/ specialty brews on tap and I sampled the Bent Paddle (Duluth) IPA, the Surly Furious IPA (Minneapolis St. paul) and they were awesome. Some of the best I have tasted. The bartender really knows his beer and takes it seriously.

Food wise it is pretty much a burger joint that makes its own chips and fries from fresh potatoes. The burgers are good but not amazing, and home made curly chips are tasty and different. They have a whole menu of toppings/ dressings for the Chips / fries.

Atmosphere is lively and it's mainly a younger crowd; decor is a mix of old Duluth and a modern tap house / burger joint.

I'll come back for sure - there's at least half a dozen more IPAs to taste.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7 West Tap House also viewed

 

Been to 7 West Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing