We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bakery and breakfast cafe.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe

Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Duluth
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Everything from our award winning breads to our crisp golden hash browns are made from scratch daily. Whether it's muffins for your morning meeting or a cake for your wedding, the Amazing Grace Bakery and Cafe is gladly here to serve you. We have always seen the need for locally conscious and globally friendly businesses. That's why we also specialize in local eggs from Promised Land Farms, local honey from the Bar Bell Bee Ranch, fresh local beer from the Bent Paddle Brewing Company, beans from local roasters Alakef, local syrup from Simple Gifts, all of our to go containers and utensils are compostable, and we also compost all of our food and coffee waste. This bakery that added a coffee shop that started making sandwiches that started making breakfast all in the same spot has been locally owned and operated since its inception, 1995. Built on one iconic saying from our late founder, "be kind, be brave, don't eat bad bread", the Amazing Grace has held true to those ideals for nearly two decades and will for many more to come.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great bakery and breakfast cafe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We came here twice during our stay in Duluth - eventually finding it the first time. If you use the address to find it then it is inside an anonymous building, but it is easier to find by the tables outside around the corner! You can sit down and be served breakfast or just order pastries at the counter. We did the latter and were very impressed by both pastries and coffee. You can also sit outside weather permitting. A very good option for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    122
    30
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have read several negative reviews about this place before I stopped by. We were on vacation and stayed in a nearby hotel. I found this location via tripadvisor. I was surprised by the polarized reviews. We came for breakfast and it was a lovely morning so we opted to eat outside. The waitresses did not seem thrilled to our suggestion of eating outside, as it does require extra work on their part going outside and up some stairs, but then again, it wasn't anything more than a slightly sour look. The next thing we knew, every one was eating outside. A couple more waitresses showed up for work, and we enjoyed a leisure breakfast. Every table was full. The setting is quite nice. The downtown canal area of Duluth is a bit like eating on Dallas's West end. It's trendy. There are several bikes in the nearby bike racks. There are several shops and sights within walking distance. And of course, the raising bridge is right down the street. I do not recall what it was that the 4 of us ordered, but the food was great and fairly priced. It is doubtful that we will ever travel up to Duluth again, but if we know anyone who does, we will be sure to tell them about Amazing Grace Bakery.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hipntrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Long waits and poor service for ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

On our last day in the Duluth area we stopped for a late breakfast at this restaurant. The initial wait time to be seated was estimated at 15 to 20 minutes and took about 25. We received our beverages quickly, but it took a long time to have our food order taken. Our wait for our food was over 30 minutes from the time our order was placed. Once our food arrived the order was not correct. The food was okay, but nothing special. When I mentioned to the waitress that the order was incorrect she acted like no mistake had been made and took $2 off the bill.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Son's girlfriend wanted us to try it and it was. Great option! Fresh deli sandwiches nod the four of us ll enjoyed what we ordered! I also enjoyed the specialty bottled root beer! The atmosphere if fun and the outdoor patio had plenty of tables and chairs. They also had bowls of water for people's dogs to drink from. We ate lunch here but the evening before we noticed there was live guitar music too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank harleytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Place For A Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

When visiting Duluth on a Friday afternoon, we had actually picked another restaurant to get a sandwich at, in the same building as Amazing Grace. But upon arrival, we found that it had no real place to sit, so we looked at the directory and saw Amazing Grace listed, so decided to give it a try. First off, I should say that unless you enter from the outside, it is very difficult to find on the inside. Since we were already inside the building, which contains several floors of shops, restaurants, offices, etc, we took the elevator to the basement level and followed the signs for Amazing Grace. At times it felt as though we were walking through the boiler room of the building. Not easy access from inside the building at all! But once we found it, and read the menu, we were pleased with the variety, and gave it a try. I'm not sure if this restaurant has changed it's policy since many of the previous reviews were written, but there were no servers waiting on tables when we were there. We stood in line and placed our order, then picked it up at the cash register, where we paid. At that point, you can pick a table inside, or outside on the patio to eat. Our sandwiches were tasty and the bread they came on was very good, although sliced a little thick for my taste. Each sandwich came with a pickle. We chose to eat inside and the table and restaurant was clean. We may have waited in line for five minutes, but I didn't think it was an unreasonable amount of time, considering they were very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stars4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing