We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, cold and stale.”
Review of Bixby's Cafe - CLOSED

Bixby's Cafe
Restaurant details
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slow, cold and stale.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Servers were on their phones just talking with each other rather than helping customers. Food counters were covered with old crumbs. Espresso was bitter. It didn't seem like they cared.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dregonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The worst Reuben sandwich I ever had”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We went to Bixby's at 7 one evening. The staff was pleasant but not very professional. The decor is up to date, clean and pleasant. We dad the soup and half sandwich. The soup was run of the mill and we both got Reuben sandwiches. Mine was toasted and my spouse's was not. I expect a Reuben to have thin sliced meat, sauerkraut that is not mushy, and cheese that is melted. The meat was thick sliced, the cheese cold, and the sauerkraut soaked the bread to a mush. Bixby's would be better off removing this from the menu, it was a disaster.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 67johnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The place to go!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at UMD for two weeks, and Bixby's was our choice for breakfast out! Loved their bagels with honey almond cream cheese (lots of almond slices) along with coffee in a mug. Nice to sit in the armchairs by the fireplace if you can get them, or buy the day old bagels for $2.75 if you're early enough! Will definitely miss Bixby's! Very friendly nice young servers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice place for quality food- bagels and sandwiches are yummy. The ham on the sandwiches was actually carved ham not the processed sandwich meat. Popular on a Sunday morning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Collierottiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Went with my husband for lunch for a quick mean. They have any kind of bread and fixings to go on it you can think off. Plus they have drinks including: coffee, water, iced tea and soda. Friendly and quick staff. Prices reasonable. Have two different soaps of the day. I would certainly go back there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bixby's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing