We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had to wait quite a while to be seated, even though the place was nearly empty. That was a bit of a bummer, but the food was pretty good! There was a toy train that toured around the building and my kids loved that. All in all, I would for sure eat there again, because the food really was good. My only suggestion is: please offer a prime rib that is less than a pound. :-)
The dining room we sat in had a nice view of Lake Superior too. Seemed like a nice place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanaeMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Black Woods Grill & Bar soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    284
    97
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Went there as a family. Husband had two chicken breasts, one was rubbery, ate his croissant roll which had a good flavor but had a hair. My son had the salmon sandwich which was good but had a hair. I had a reuben that was good but not really good. I was hoping for better. Overall it was okay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your honesty and comments. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Black Woods Grill & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodland, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Kids Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We walked here for dinner one evening while staying at the Edgewater. The hostess was great and offered to store our stroller in a locked room for us while we ate. The kids really enjoyed watching the train go around the restaurant and watching the chef through the view window. The atmosphere and decor are warm and inviting. I ordered the tuna and it was excellent! A bit pricey, but worth it. The kids menu is the best I've ever seen - large portions, huge selection and it includes a make your own sundae, or a healthy dessert if you choose. I like that it wasn't all fried "kids" foods but had a nice variety of healthy dishes that most kids will eat. The only downside was our waiter was extremely slow and forgetful, I think he was new, but overall I would go here again when in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Black Woods Grill & Bar. We greatly appreciate your business to our local restaurant and look forward to seeing you and your kids again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Looks good on the outside but poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We ate at the Black Woods in Duluth this past weekend while staying in Canal Park. We decided to get away from the usual spots and try something different. No problems getting a table and the service was fine. Dinner on the other hand was very overpriced for the entrees. We had two pasta dishes, the whitefish with wild rice, and a dinner salad with chicken for my daughter. Pasta was overcooked and had 16 whole cloves of garlic in it that were uncooked and hard/very unappetizing. The chicken was "slimy". My daughter didn't eat it. My whitefish/salad was $22.00 and covered in oil/butter. It came with asparagus that was ok and an extra charge for a small salad, one dinner role. We usually look for light and fresh options so will not be back to the Black Woods grill. Both my husband and I felt ill all night which kind of put a damper on our trek to the ice caves Sunday morning.......but we prevailed. Would suggest strongly a new chef and some fresher options. This place is a real disappointment in our opinion and definitely not worth the price we paid for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joxxxxxjoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your honesty. We greatly appreciate your business to Black Woods Grill & Bar. We would like to speak with you further in regards to your experience. Please contact us at katiem@blackwoods.com. It is our mission statement to exceed every guests expectations. We are sorry to hear of your experience and would greatly appreciate a chance to speak with you directly.

Sincerely,
Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We live in Duluth and eat here every once in a while. It is a place we take out of town visitors. The view and the atmosphere lend to the charm. They have a train that runs through the restaurant along the top of the walls. Our grandson loved that when he was small. The outdoor seating in the summer is great, so much so that we are again holding one of our kids wedding rehearsal dinners there. They are very accommodating. The meatloaf with the glaze is so goooood!!!!. The bloody mary is a garden in a glass with a fresh shrimp...awesome!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so thankful for having your son's rehearsal dinner with Black Woods, too. We greatly appreciate your kindness and business to our local restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing