We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
CABLE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I hadn't dined at Black Woods in almost 10 years, just because I haven't been in the area. Decided to stop here for dinner, and it was just as good as I remembered! The crab cakes were amazing, the best I've ever eaten (including those I've sampled in Maryland). I had the pan-seared Ahi Tuna... the menu said it was "melt in your mouth" and they weren't kidding! The waitress we had was great as well... awesome service.

The only thing I can complain about was that we were in a room with several screaming children... even I have a high tolerance for loud kids and this was a little too much. But the restaurant can't really be held responsible for that.

I will definitely be back and soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We look forward to seeing you back again when you return to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    289
    102
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food great...prices a little high”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great place for good quality food. We have been here several times and have always been pleased. The prices do seem a little high for the portion sizes, but I still highly recommend taking a dinner here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spicy-octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your continued business to our restaurant and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent Anniversary Lunch!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My parent's 60th wedding anniversary lunch was a
total success thanks to the Black Woods excellent, friendly staff, delicious food, and private seating area for our group of 40. Thank you so much!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we greatly appreciate your feedback!
Happy Anniversary to your parents! Thank you for celebrating with us at Black Woods.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great view of lake and awesome food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a party of 20 and 8pm on a Saturday night. We were in the front room facing the lake and had our own server. She did an excellent job and the food was really good. They have so many options low cal cocktails. The atmosphere is great, the food is great, would come back here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing comments and 5 star review! We are so thankful for your business and your large group dining with us at Black Woods. We are so excited to see you again soon! We greatly appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening Out!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I came here on our last night of vacation to Duluth. Made a reservation for a scenic view and weren't disappointed by the panoramic sights of Lake Superior. They have a fair number of tap beers and specialty cocktails. I ordered the mac and cheese and Hubby had the chicken and ribs. My pasta was delicious and creamy, I could only eat less than half of the large serving (Hubby got the leftovers and didn't mind!). He said his rotisserie chicken was moist and flavorful and the ribs were juicy and sauced just right (he knows ribs). Our server, Sydney, was sweet and attentive. Loved this place, we'll be back our next trip through!

Helpful?
1 Thank GardenLady1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your 5 star review of our local restaurant! We are so thankful you stopped at Black Woods on your visit to Duluth. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are traveling here - be sure to get some dessert next time and stop by Black Water Lounge (our Martini Lounge in downtown Duluth) when you are looking for something extra special!
Thank you for you review and feedback - we will be sure to tell Sydney of your comments, too!
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing