We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid room, but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good solid room, but the breakfasts were the worst i have ever had. Not enough selection, people were giving up on the toaster after 10 - 15 minutes. alot of complaints about the cold meat and frozen potatoes yes still frozen.

Adult time for the pool was adhered to by the staff which was commendable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We're so glad to hear that the rest of your stay went well, however, we do want to apologize for the trouble you had with breakfast! Our complimentary "Be Our Guest" breakfast is certainly meant to be a bright start to your day. We regret to hear that this was not your experience. We will certainly document this for management so they can review what may have happened that morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you've got an early flight and need to stay over before heading to the airport, this is the closest Duluth hotel to the airport. My room was clean, sheets good, bed comfortable. I had the misfortune of being there on a very cold northern MN night and was stuck with a heater unit that "ticked" loudly all night long... thus not leading to a good night sleep for me, but that's probably just life in the winter in Duluth. Ironically, I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel didn't deliver due to the noisy heater. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. The front desk staff were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your comments and will use this to fine tune our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you to the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a visit with our daughter that attends UMD. We arrived at the person at the desk was very friendly and asked what the purpose was for our visit to Duluth. I said that we were visiting our daughter and he said that they had a special rate for parents of UMD students. It was a lower rate than what I had originally booked the room, so that was a pleasant surprise. He also upgraded our room. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. We didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment on that. Our experience has always been a good one at this hotel. We make this hotel our first choice when looking for a room for the night, but it fills up fast. It is close to many restaurants, Miller Hill Mall and other shopping. A great place to stay and good cookies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate it and will definitely share it with our management team and staff. We look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth visiting your UMD student.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The purpose of our visit was to go on our annual Christmas shopping trip with another couple. Location was extremely convenient for the shopping trip. Room was very clean and quiet. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amilina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, we truely appreciate you taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor, we will definitley share your comments with our management team and staff. We look forward to seeing you again when in the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nothing remarkable about this hotel or its location, but good value and convenient. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. There are numerous restaurants in the area, and it is close to the airport, and a short drive to downtown Duluth. I would stay here again on another trip to the Duluth area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again when visiting Duluth. We will definitely share this with our management team and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

No issues. My wife and I visited Duluth for a shopping weekend during the Canadian Thanksgiving.
The room was clean and the hotel was surprisingly quiet even though all rooms were occupied. We would stay here again. It was very convenient for a shopping get a way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mysdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share your comments with our team, thank you. Look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Being a professional contract pilot I often travel to a city and am required to spend 10+ hours away from the airport while waiting for a passenger. This was the case with my stay at Country Inn and Suites. Very quiet, comfortable bed, fast internet, easy and fast check-in/out. What more could you want unless it would also be complementary transportation to and from the airport. A perfect day-room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M-Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We hope on your next stay that you can spend the night with us and enjoy a complimentary ride to the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing