We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath of fresh air!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend and loved it! The room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the pool was awesome. The water slide was a lot of fun for any age, and the jacuzzi was clean and warm. I was very pleased with their continental breakfast, and there are many nearby restaurants to try for dinner. I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aimee1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for the great review. We look forward to seeing you in the future to once again, enjoy our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    137
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
272
98
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for one night on Memorial Weekend. My husband is in the Army so I think we got a pretty good deal on the room. I love that the room has a microwave & refrigerator. Great staff when we checked in & the bed is pretty comfortable too. Pretty good size room as well. The only down side is that it is about a 15 minute drive to downtown Duluth. But I'm not going to complain. I think the value for the room we got was pretty good. And Outback Steakhouse is right outside the hotel, so a good choice for dinner if you don't want to drive to downtown Duluth. Haven't had the complimentary breakfast yet though. Well see how that is in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kberg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a wonderful review. Hope you enjoyed our Enhanced Hot Breakfast and had a restful sleep. See you again when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed overnight and shuttled to airport. Left our vehicle there. Everything was what you would want from a hotel stay. Staff was excellent, we didn't get continental breakfast as we had to leave early. Very well run place.

Room Tip: Call and book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor. So happy to hear that you had a positive experience and that our shuttle service fit your needs. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night; to attend a family birthday party in Duluth. We didn't use the pool area since it was such a short stay, but we were very pleased with our stay. I am difficult to please, and all the important things to me were taken care of. The hotel staff was very friendly. We used the shuttle service and that went well. Our room was clean, smelled nice and the heat worked well (not noisy like some hotels are). The bed was very comforable and there were multiple pillows - nice size. The breakfast and coffee were very good. There were cold cereal choices, some hot choices (make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, etc) as well as coffee, milk, juice. We went to the Outback for dinner - right across the parking lot which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnesotaRedrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We will continue to give all of our guests a warm and welcoming experience at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pros: Location, quiet, breakfast.
Cons: It was difficult to maintain a constant temperature in the room.

Checking in was a breeze - the front desk gave a courtesy call a few hours later to see if all was well (nice touch). Housekeeping were courteous and friendly - a smile goes a long way! Complementary breakfast had a nice selection to choose from, food that was suppose to be hot was hot, cold things were kept cold. Room was clean, dusted fairly well, air filter in HVAC unit is being maintained (not clogged up). Fridge and microwave were clean and functional. Bed linens were in good shape, towels were OK. WiFi was good, though a bit slow during peak times. Modern TV with good selection of channels (no HD programming - not a big deal for us). Pool was a bit too cool, hot tub was fine. Pool towels were clean, but pretty wore out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice letter concerning our hotel. We do try hard to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This isn't the finest place I've stayed but it was so darn nice on the inside. Fireplace in the lobby, seen many hotels with that but this one was really cozy. Had a pool, no big deal but I loved it. I know I sound like a total rube who hasn't gone anywhere but that doesn't mean this wasn't a nice place. Oh, no fans in the bathroom. Good place for pets and families.

Room Tip: No views to speak of unless you're into Gander Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinswin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We want to thank you for thaking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share this with our staff and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This is where our family stays regularly. They accept pets and have a good size pet walking area. The free breakfast is great, hot and cold items, and a wide variety. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Pool area is great for the kids. Hotel is in great location, close to all the shopping and restaurants on the hill :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and do try our best to make all of our guests feel like they are at home when away from home. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-4135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing