We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My place in Duluth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
CANADA EH!
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My place in Duluth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Only spent one night here this time, but this is my place to stay in Duluth. Room was ready early, welcomed by polite courteous staff. Large room, stayed in King jacuzzi. Usually stay in 2 room suite, but this was the only one available. Nice room, but I prefer to be on the lower levels, easier access out side, especially after shopping...easier to bring in your treasures.
Elevator is slow, bit shakey at its stops.
Pool is small but did the job on a hot day.
Breakfast is always good with nice selection.
Check out is done before you even wake up. Receipt slid under the door when you open your eyes. I like that.
Nothing to complain about, as long as they keep maintaining this hotel, I will be sure to return.

Room Tip: They accept CAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NrthrnGurlEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth. Please watch for our new look for we are begining our remodle with a fresh and updated new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    135
    44
    15
    10
See reviews for
254
96
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Always like the customer service and the shuttle to and from the airport and vehicle security. This is probably my 10 visit. Was here a month ago and will be coming down from Thunder Bay in a few weeks to use the facilities again. Tx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank OhLaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Always makes us feel good when our cutomers experience a positive stay. We look forard to seeing you again when in Duluth and truly appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our family vacation to Duluth. Check in was not to impressed with the guy was very soft spoken and didn't really explain anything to us like check out time where our room was things like that. Our room was very clean and nice. The swimming pool area was great I have a 3 year old and the small kiddy pool was great he had a blast playing in it. Nice area where it is located. It may not be right by the lake but it is way better priced then staying right by the lake. And it is not to far from down town Duluth.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank meko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
You review was very much appreciated and will continue to strive for excellence with our personnel and property. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you and your family again when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very clean property in a safe neighbourhood. You aren't close to downtown but you are close to the airport. The staff are super -friendly. This hotel is pet-friendly toward dogs. We needed early check in and they helped us out. It is a bit of a hike from the front desk to the elevators. The complimentary breakfast is better than average. There is plenty of shopping malls and big-box stores nearby as well as restaurants.

Room Tip: It's a hike from the front desk to the elevators. You might want to request a ground-floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJO_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear that you had a positive experience while a guest with us. We do hope to see you again when in the Duluth area to enjoy our property and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

good hotel to stay at, staff was very accommodating to us as we were stuck in town with vehicle troubles and they got us a room early and with short notice. room was clean and well kept as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M&B_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor. We are always happy to hear when someone has enjoyed our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

So, I was looking for a hotel in Duluth that was reasonably priced during summer. We had a rent a car so we didn't have to be in the "middle of it all". Very familiar with the Country Inn and Suites, because as a pilot, we stay at these places a lot. This time though, made here the choice even for a little mini vaca.

The price was very reasonable with a daily cancellation, with no fee, which is what we needed in case we couldn't make it. Most travel websites are "one and done" with charging you on the card right there. And, honestly we needed a little insurance that if we didn't make it, oh well.

Really nice property, right off of HWY 53 and Haines, so head east and your in downtown in about 10 min. Usual Country amenities, free breakfast, WIFI, cookies, coffee at all hours, and don't forget the waterslide (real waterslide, shot me out like a cannon!). And don't forget the service, from the initial call of "yeah, we can get you a good deal and cancel daily if you need", to the smiles every time I walked in the door. And to drop a name, Ryan was a great help to me and my family. My 6 year old daughter appreciated his attentiveness, because he helped her out one day enjoying the waterslide for the last time before we left to go back home.

Thanks buddy, I owe you!

So, yeah, don't want to pay 200+ in canal park and have a car? This is your place. Nice, reasonably priced, with amenities and multiple things to do for the kids and plenty of stores/restaurants in the area. Drop me a line if need be.

Room Tip: Always good to go high and outside. The elevators are in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riveria-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are always happy to hear when our guests have had a positive experience. I will definitely share your comments with Ryan and again thank you, and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was pleased with the attention to details of staff at the desk and the cleanliness of my room. Modern facilities with fresh decorated rooms. A home away from home. Peaceful and restful sleep. Secure and safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to respond concerning theie stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing