We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Duluth Get Away.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Nice accommodations. Blend of old and new. View is amazing. Gracious host. Easy walk to the shops and resteraraunts in Canal Park. As an introvert I was a little skeptical of the sit down breakfast with all the other guests. Granted it was only two other couples. What a gift to be in their presence. Fine food and company. It was a splendid time. We usually get a hotel in Canal Park when we go to Duluth- Solglimt will now be the destination. Brian and Mary are gracious host eager to make your stay rememberable. Go enjoy!

Room Tip: Check out the website to view rooms. Ours was the lift bridge. Modern design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytripsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you had a great experience and told others. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Solglimt to have close access to the marina. Our hosts, Brian and Mary, were very accommodating with our odd requests and gave great recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room was very comfortable and the tub was fabulous after a cold and wet day. The breakfasts each morning were healthy and wonderful. We will definately recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - and if you don't get a room with a view of the lake or bridge, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN-BlueLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We are so glad you had a great experience at Solglimt. It was fun to meet and visit with you two and share your excitement for your beautiful boat. See you around the neighborhood!!
Mary and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We really LOVED this B&B! The house is lovely, and the view is spectacular! The hosts are very gracious and have put a lot of thought into the details! It was nice to have hot chocolate, tea, and coffee available - as well as pop and bottled water. The snacks (Chex Mix, pretzels, cashews, and trial mix) and fresh cookies were a welcome touch.
The weather was not cooperative, but we went outside anyway! Beautiful decks and patios with a to-die-for view!.
We stayed in the loft and loved the decor. It was fun and colorful and I did NOT feel like I was in my great grandmas bedroom! : )
Breakfast was SPECTACULAR! YUMMY and very thoughtful of the gluten free guests!
Beware - for the shy- the divider between the sleeping area and bathroom is a curtain. We found the bed a little too soft for us - but that is completely personal preference!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The LOFT has a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge through the skylight. (It is also on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridgebacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are so pleased that you had a great stay! We enjoyed meeting both of you and visiting with you. We will look forward to your return. Kandinskys Loft has the European Pillow top bed in it. It is a little more plush. Our other suites have the Serta perfect sleeper beds and are a bit more firm.
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

It has taken me far too long to write this review, but my sentiments have remained unchanged since our experience at the Solglimt. Mary and Brian are the most gracious hosts a traveller could ever hope to encounter. Although our travels were short (we have happily planted our roots in Duluth, MN) our family who joined us at the Solglimt came from far away, and it was the perfect setting for a long-overdue family get-together which also happened to also be our wedding! The house is beautifully decorated with an eclectic array of art, and everything seems to have been crafted to fit exactly where it is placed. The hosts have wonderful taste! Each room is very carefully planned to capture the essence of Duluth and the views of Lake Superior are breathtaking. We stayed in the Lake Superior suite which is home to the amazing steam shower! Again, the view was spectacular from our room. When we came downstairs to breakfast we were pleasantly surprised by Mary and Brian's skill in the kitchen! These two can do it all! The food was delicious. Mary and Brian have dedicated quite a bit of time to perfecting their menu in order to serve a new meal nearly every day! They told a story of one guest who has stayed at the Solglimt over 30 times and never had the same meal twice!!

Mary and Brian are two of the most wonderful people. They helped make our special time with family and close friends one of the best experiences of our lives. Stay at the Solglimt! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Check out the steam shower in the Lake Superior suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrittanyR861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank You for your kind words!! That whole experience of the weekend you spent here,, meeting your Colorado family and Duluth family and friends will always be one of favorite/memorable times as Innkeepers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I was really at home, treated like a visiting friend or family member. Mary and Brian graciously upgraded me to the premier quarters, since there was room. This wasn't something I asked for, but it was very much appreciated. The house is comfortable and beautifully adorned with an interesting art collection. The view of Lake Superior is dramatic. The breakfast was like dining in a fine restaurant. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This CONTEMPORARY B&B was terrific...right on the Lake Superior shoreline! We had a delightful evening and a wonderful breakfast served on glass tables with white table cloths. Very nice hosts and we loved our room at the "top" the loft! Dave and Sue, Rice Lake, Wi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The rooms are lovely and very well appointed, not missing a thing, the views are stunning, the breakfasts were scrumptious and "over the top", the grounds facing the lake are gorgeous, the snack bar available 24 hrs was a real treat, and the hosts are the best. This B&B is one of the best there is. Treat yourself to this fabulous property, you won't be disappointed. Go in the warm seasons so you can eat outside.

Room Tip: You should definitely get a "room with a view" of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing