We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$194
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Pier Inn on the Canal(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
98
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe aerial lift bridgesnacks and beveragescanal parklake superior shorelinegreat hostspicture windowother guestsenjoy the viewore boatsa king size bedwalking distancegreat roombrianmaryloftkandinskyinnkeepers
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We recently spent three night at Solglimt Lakeshore B and B. We found the location excellent as I was attending a quilting convention and my husband had to stay "home" through the day. WiFi was excellent, something my husband needed as he worked from Duluth during our stay. It was just a couple of minutes walk into town and restaurants. Make sure you travel beyond the B and B to the end of the island - an entire different world down there.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and it was a bit noisy, but once you closed the windows tight, not too bad.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joniefitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

It was so fun having you here during the quilting convention!! Your work is just beautiful!! As soon as the winter sets in I am going to give it a try. You inspired me with the modern designs and colors of your pieces. Thank You for staying with us and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Loved staying at Solglimt. Very comfortable accommodations. Brian & Mary are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. Highly recommend this B&B,far exceeded our expectations. We will be staying here again. Mary recommended getting dinner at the Duluth Grill. That also was a fine choice. Tasty Breakfast, wonderful variety of foods and flavors. Very tastefully done in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molitor5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words!! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Nice accommodations. Blend of old and new. View is amazing. Gracious host. Easy walk to the shops and resteraraunts in Canal Park. As an introvert I was a little skeptical of the sit down breakfast with all the other guests. Granted it was only two other couples. What a gift to be in their presence. Fine food and company. It was a splendid time. We usually get a hotel in Canal Park when we go to Duluth- Solglimt will now be the destination. Brian and Mary are gracious host eager to make your stay rememberable. Go enjoy!

Room Tip: Check out the website to view rooms. Ours was the lift bridge. Modern design.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytripsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you had a great experience and told others. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Solglimt to have close access to the marina. Our hosts, Brian and Mary, were very accommodating with our odd requests and gave great recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room was very comfortable and the tub was fabulous after a cold and wet day. The breakfasts each morning were healthy and wonderful. We will definately recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - and if you don't get a room with a view of the lake or bridge, there is a very comfortable living room with a fabulous view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN-BlueLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We are so glad you had a great experience at Solglimt. It was fun to meet and visit with you two and share your excitement for your beautiful boat. See you around the neighborhood!!
Mary and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We really LOVED this B&B! The house is lovely, and the view is spectacular! The hosts are very gracious and have put a lot of thought into the details! It was nice to have hot chocolate, tea, and coffee available - as well as pop and bottled water. The snacks (Chex Mix, pretzels, cashews, and trial mix) and fresh cookies were a welcome touch.
The weather was not cooperative, but we went outside anyway! Beautiful decks and patios with a to-die-for view!.
We stayed in the loft and loved the decor. It was fun and colorful and I did NOT feel like I was in my great grandmas bedroom! : )
Breakfast was SPECTACULAR! YUMMY and very thoughtful of the gluten free guests!
Beware - for the shy- the divider between the sleeping area and bathroom is a curtain. We found the bed a little too soft for us - but that is completely personal preference!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The LOFT has a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge through the skylight. (It is also on the third floor - so you will obviously be walking up stairs!). One of the rooms as a view of the harbor - not the lake so make sure you read the descriptions and will be thrilled with your choice!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridgebacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are so pleased that you had a great stay! We enjoyed meeting both of you and visiting with you. We will look forward to your return. Kandinskys Loft has the European Pillow top bed in it. It is a little more plush. Our other suites have the Serta perfect sleeper beds and are a bit more firm.
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews