We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duluth Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Duluth Getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Loved the Soglimt. The location is very convenient to restaurants and activities. The breakfast on the 2 days we were there was amazing each day. The hosts, Brian and Mary are very generous with water, sodas cookies and snacks available gratis. the room we were in was so comfortable, quiet and homey. We'll be back to the Soglimt!

Room Tip: Love the modern Scandinavian design in the Aeriel bridge suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
72
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at Solglimt and I could not have been more pleased with our visit. Mary & Brian greeted us when we arrived and made us feel completely at home. The first night we stayed in Kandinsky's Loft and that room was very fun, with artistic touches in every corner of the room. One note about the Loft is that the bed is a Double, not a Queen or King like the other rooms.

The second night we stayed in the Lake Superior Room and that was magnificent. Honestly, we could have sat and watched the Lake out of the huge bay windows for hours. The name of the house, Solglimt, comes from the Danish word for the morning light shining on the water. When we woke up Sunday morning, we did see solglimt on the Lake and it felt very special.

Mary is an excellent chef and the food she prepared was magnificent. Examples of the home made breakfast we were served included blueberry-peach gallette (type of flatbread), rhubarb scones and wild rice quiche.

I cannot recommend this bed & breakfast highly enough, it is a place I know we will be visiting many times in the future

Room Tip: The Lake Superior room has an unbelievable view of the Lake. Try to get it if at all possible
See more room tips
Green Features: Made an effort to be environmentally friendly in food preparation and in providing recycling bins in each room
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markabaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you and visiting with you. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. It was so good you could move into the the Lake Superior Suite for your second night. Our bed in the Loft is actually a queen bed not a double. The Loft room and the Park Point Suites are both queen beds. We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ames, iowa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We recently spent three night at Solglimt Lakeshore B and B. We found the location excellent as I was attending a quilting convention and my husband had to stay "home" through the day. WiFi was excellent, something my husband needed as he worked from Duluth during our stay. It was just a couple of minutes walk into town and restaurants. Make sure you travel beyond the B and B to the end of the island - an entire different world down there.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and it was a bit noisy, but once you closed the windows tight, not too ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joniefitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
It was so fun having you here during the quilting convention!! Your work is just beautiful!! As soon as the winter sets in I am going to give it a try. You inspired me with the modern designs and colors of your pieces. Thank You for staying with us and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Loved staying at Solglimt. Very comfortable accommodations. Brian & Mary are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. Highly recommend this B&B,far exceeded our expectations. We will be staying here again. Mary recommended getting dinner at the Duluth Grill. That also was a fine choice. Tasty Breakfast, wonderful variety of foods and flavors. Very tastefully done in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molitor5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words!! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Nice accommodations. Blend of old and new. View is amazing. Gracious host. Easy walk to the shops and resteraraunts in Canal Park. As an introvert I was a little skeptical of the sit down breakfast with all the other guests. Granted it was only two other couples. What a gift to be in their presence. Fine food and company. It was a splendid time. We usually get a hotel in Canal Park when we go to Duluth- Solglimt will now be the destination. Brian and Mary are gracious host eager to make your stay rememberable. Go enjoy!

Room Tip: Check out the website to view rooms. Ours was the lift bridge. Modern design.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are green. The conern for the environment is obvious.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytripsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you had a great experience and told others. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Solglimt to have close access to the marina. Our hosts, Brian and Mary, were very accommodating with our odd requests and gave great recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room was very comfortable and the tub was fabulous after a cold and wet day. The breakfasts each morning were healthy and wonderful. We will definately recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - and if you don't get a room with a view of the lake or bridge, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN-BlueLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are so glad you had a great experience at Solglimt. It was fun to meet and visit with you two and share your excitement for your beautiful boat. See you around the neighborhood!!
Mary and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, Mn
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We really LOVED this B&B! The house is lovely, and the view is spectacular! The hosts are very gracious and have put a lot of thought into the details! It was nice to have hot chocolate, tea, and coffee available - as well as pop and bottled water. The snacks (Chex Mix, pretzels, cashews, and trial mix) and fresh cookies were a welcome touch.
The weather was not cooperative, but we went outside anyway! Beautiful decks and patios with a to-die-for view!.
We stayed in the loft and loved the decor. It was fun and colorful and I did NOT feel like I was in my great grandmas bedroom! : )
Breakfast was SPECTACULAR! YUMMY and very thoughtful of the gluten free guests!
Beware - for the shy- the divider between the sleeping area and bathroom is a curtain. We found the bed a little too soft for us - but that is completely personal preference!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The LOFT has a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge through the skylight. (It is also on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgebacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are so pleased that you had a great stay! We enjoyed meeting both of you and visiting with you. We will look forward to your return. Kandinskys Loft has the European Pillow top bed in it. It is a little more plush. Our other suites have the Serta perfect sleeper beds and are a bit more firm.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing