We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price”
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very nice family hotel. Board Games at front desk. Great lobby with the requisite lodge atmosphere. Breakfast was good with Caribou Coffee, cereal, Danish, yogurt, etc. Pool and hot tub were great. Only thing that needs improvement is the activities for kids as this is a destination lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whazup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms are clean and well appointment. The decor is fresh and updated. Service is always friendly. Breakfast is hot and delicious. Great location on the shore close to stores, restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had to come to Duluth for the death of a friend...A friend of mine and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge. As soon as you walk in the Lodge you are engulfed with a warm and serene atmostphere. The big stone fireplace warms you through to the bones and considering Duluth and it's winters, it is inviting. The rooms are clean, lush and confortable. The staff is very curtious and helpful. The morning buffett of breakfast is outstanding with it's wide array of food choices, all for free!! And there is nothing like sitting in the back living room of the hotel and watching the boats come to and fro from the port of Duluth. Big wide windows overlook the lake. I will definately come back to stay here. It is my favorite hotel in Duluth!!

Room Tip: The rooms run a little small. We had 2 double beds. So if you need more space upgrade to a bigger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danishgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have always been consistently pleased with this property. It feels brand new, rooms are clean, great décor and a perfect location. A word of warning about winter weekends....the city plays host to hockey and other tournaments every weekend and this past one was no exception. There were both hockey and girls basketball tournaments and all the hotels in Canal Park were full of the players and their families. When the games are taking place, the hotels are a quiet respite. When games are not taking places, the public areas of the hotels are overwhelmed with the players and their families. The hotels try to separate the players' rooms from the rest of the hotel guests, but that doesn't stop the running down the halls, slamming of doors and the party that was taking place in the room next to mine at 11:00 p.m. A call to the front desk eventually solved the problem. While I would definitely stay here again, I would not stay here or anywhere in Canal Park on a winter weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the to floor for quiet and a room facing the lake for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesAVaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

When we entered the front doors of the Canal Park Lodge the first thing my husband and I noticed was an overpowering perfume scent. I have severe asthma and get very ill around perfumes. I asked the front desk if the rooms were scented too and was thankful when she told us that they only scent the front entry. Not sure why this hotel feels the need to perfume scent the front entry, but they should be more concerned about their guests that are sensitive to strong odors. . The rooms were nicely decorated; the mirrors and TV screens were all smeared and not clean. The beds were ok, and the pillows were horrible and strange. They were approximately 12" x 12", were not comfortable, or big enough for adults to sleep on.
With the price of this hotel we expected much more. We stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites the night before and had a fantastic experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor to cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneBrooklynPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We do have a scent machine for our lobby. During the Holidays we use a Baked Apple scent to greet our guests as they come to register. We control the times of the day it comes on, the frequency and the strength. I will personally check the settings to make sure it's not overwhelming. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Travelling with 5yr old and 7yr old seeing family in USA. Stayed first night in hotel 2 doors down on first night and relocated here.
Very, very happy 4 night stay.Beautiful lobby, amazing pool even at -6F and small but great gym with weights and running machines.
Breakfast is 6.30 - 10.30am with eggs, bacon, salsa, cheese, Caribou coffee, waffles, bagels,pastries, oatmeal (instant) yoghurt, with the hot options changing daily.
The rooms seem larger than the other hotels on Canal Park Rd and the staff here are lovely. Good size bathrooms, not huge, loved the thick towels and toilet paper caddy.
Beds are comfortable with small square pillows. Easy to adjust heating and cooling.
Although you are slightly further away from the shops (for this warm blooded Aussie) this wouldn't be a problem in summer.
Stayed in a Lakeview 2Queen room on great Bentleyville rate of US$130 p/n.
Hubby is keen to run Grandma's marathon so we are looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank RegionalQLDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Glad to hear you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was just what we were looking for... on the lake.. great location... beautiful lodge theme.. But our room smelled awful! We walked in and each of us said the room smelled like BO!
I immediately call the front desk and asked for housekeeping. We returned from a walk with the room smelling no different. I went to the front desk and they gave me a bottle of spray and was told this takes care of "anything"! We sprayed and sprayed but it still smelled. We opened the balcony door to the cold and that didn't do it either. It smelled so awful that we couldn't sleep. The room appeared clean but maybe something was lurking under the bed (we were afraid to look.) I emailed the manager with no response and then the general email with no response. No one seemed to care. We were not offered another room and no one responded to our complaints.
Sadly disappointing

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KimL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

We appreciate all comments and use them to improve our guest’s experiences.
I have contacted KimL98 and we have agreed to a resolution that they are satisfied with.
I'm happy to say that they have agreed to give us another try.
My staff and I look forward to ensuring their next stay has the proper level of service that we failed to deliver the first time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £96 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dining. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing