We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge”
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lake view room, and it was spectacular! The rooms were large, as well as the bathroom. The lounge on the first floor overlooked Lake Superior, and had a very cosy feel to it. The lodge offered a hot breakfast during the morning hours, as well as coffee and tea throughout the day. The location was in the middle of downtown, so it was easy enough to walk to restaurants and bars that were nearby. The only negative I have is the noise while you are in your room. The walls are thin, and you can hear your neighbours and people in the hallway. But if you go to bed later, and rise earlier, than it shouldn't be a problem. Otherwise, it had an authentic "lodge" feel to it.

Room Tip: Lake side is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niffy3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    104
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
153
148
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were not on the lake-side but were very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room (king-sized bed). The front desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous and made us feel welcome. The cocktail hour was a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Try as I might, I can't thing of anything negative about Canal Park Lodge. The first-floor lounge is large and luxurious, with a great view of Lake Superior and an outdoor patio. My room was large, also with a lake view (great for sunrise- and storm-- watching. Front desk was efficient and courteous. There is a pool--a warning to those who dislike screaming children--but is removed from main part of the building. An excellent and fairy new addition to Duluth's Canal Park waterfront!
As a 10-year resident of the area, I'll offer two cautions: (1) This is not cheap in any season. There are many quite adequate downtown motels @ $80-100 per night. Balcony suites in the summer are great but at New York-style prices. (2) Canal Park traffic in the summer is just awful. Unless you plan to visit local state parks, don't drive; Rental bikes are available, and the local transit system offers frequent shuttle buses.

Room Tip: Lakeview and balconies are available. Third floor for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outsider33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here during a busy festival in the harbor, and were impressed with the customer service of the hotel while it was full. The benefits of Canal Park Lodge include: the lake view room, which did have a lovely view; access to the lake walk path right outside the hotel; the evening cash bar in the lobby each evening; and the easy walking distance to not only the superb brewery next door, but also a variety of restaurants blocks away. The only cons that I can think of are that the wifi was very poor during times of high traffic, and the room was kind of small, but that was a minor inconvenience. The hotel lobby was quite nice, as was the lounge and patio area. We would stay here again in the future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inge1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Canal Park Lodge is very convenient for us when we want to arrange for a short weekend stay on the North Shore without driving too far up. Accommodations again were very clean, the Lodge provides an ample breakfast with a host of good choices, and the walkway along the lake is very convenient to several good restaurants in the old Fitger's Brewery. I also love the open seating areas in both the front entry side and lakeside for guests to relax, read, or visit with one another. Reasonably priced cocktails are also available with a free appetizer each dinner hour, which is also a nice perk.

Room Tip: *There is no restaurant in the Lodge, and I couldn't uncheck that line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaminjoan_AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a great property on the edge of Lake Superior, we arrived in a snow storm and the service counter personal were very friendly and accommodating. The rate was excellent for a Thursday night. We got a lake view which was beautiful. The room had comfortable pillows and a good matteress. The furniture was nice and the water pressure was good in the shower. One thing that really bothered me was the smell. It smelled like sweat. We asked for another room and the staff were excellent and gave me another room right away. To my surprise the smell was the same. We stayed in the second room. It may be some kind of cleaner that they are using.



The breakfast was good pancakes, toast, an assortment of pastries, ceral, eggs, and breakfast sauage.

Overall a beautiful property, great price, but need to revisit the cleaning.

Room Tip: get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAdvisorBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel all the time when we come down to Duluth. Last weekend, which will probably be our last weekend to stay there, The room overall was clean, except when I went to have my shower. There was long dark hair STUCK to the ceramic tile on the wall!!!! I called down to the front desk and was given the attitude of " what do you want me to? Do you want me come and wipe it off?" I found this kind of rude, told him I did it, but he needed let the manager know. On our last day there at breakfast, my husband found a hair in his eggs. That was the last straw. When checking out, I told the girl about the issues and that I want a call from the manager to discuss this. I haven't anything. Lots of other beautiful hotels in Canal Park to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Property: Canal Park Lodge
Address: 250 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing