We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good value, excellent location”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I checked in on Sunday and stayed through Thursday. The location was perfect - within walking distance of practically everything. Didn't get in my car again until Tuesday to go to Glensheen. My room was a king suite with no windows - a little disconcerting when you get up in the morning. I had a full size fridge and a two-top stove with dishwasher, which I ended up not using. Good size bath and closet. Comfortable bed and not a lot of noise coming from outside the room. Pool area was also very nice. Noticed that this place is dog friendly, as every other person I saw seemed to have one (or even two). I had a good rate of $80 a night, plus a free drink at the Timberlodge next door every night. Breakfast was decent - you actually get hot food like eggs and waffles, not just cereal and bagels. I had no problems with the front desk staff - they were pleasant and accomodating. My only gripe is that the maid staff could have been better. I had dirty ashtrays, unemptied garbage and an unmade bed - must have been an off day. Other than that, I can recommend this as a good place to stay if you want to spend time in downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Get one with windows - it's a little weird waking up in the dark at 8 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluegirlMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We receive a lot of great comments about our breakfast buffet and we're glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    166
    84
    51
    27
See reviews for
208
128
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel was clean, the rooms were unique with the architecture, kitchenettes, small refrigerator, etc. The bathroom was clean and the bed - OMG was so comfortable! Totally would stay here again and again! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjfetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience! And you a right about the beds...they are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Along with about 5 other parties, we were unable to check in on time. We were told that our room would be ready in about "5-10" minutes. We stood next to the desk so they could just get us when they were ready. 45 minutes later, we had to return to the clerk to ask him if they were ready for us. They were, but hadnt bothered to mention that to us. They said they would refund us $20 for our late check in, which we appreciated. The next morning when we looked at the invoice under our door, it did not reflect the discount we were told we would receive, classy. We then had to call the front desk to get that adjusted and asked them if they could please bring up the new invoice. They said they couldnt. Asking to get a correct invoice delivered to our room was too much of a hassle. After audible displeasure from us, they said they could bring it up, but probably not for at least another hour. Later, I noticed that my credit card reflected a $176 charge.. far over the $116 invoice we had received for the second time. I called to get this straightened out.. I spoke to a manager who could not tell me where this $176 charge came from, but was very patronizing as he spoke to me about "how debit cards work." -- I understand an extra charge for incidentals, but $60 seems extreme. The rooms are dingy, but okay if you're not planning on staying in them too much of the time.. its the awful service that really brings this hotel to a new low.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your candid review. We always work hard to correct our short comings when a guest experience is not up to their expectations, it's the only way to continue to give great customer service to you, our guests. We take this to heart and give it our all everyday. Thank you again and keep the reviews coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great location in a fun zone. Very good use of an old structure. Entryways have No ramps ,not so handicap friendly.

Room Tip: 4th floor ok for smokers-if thats what you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Good hotel in a cool old building in a great location in Canal Park in Duluth. The carpeting and stuff was showing its age a bit, but it was clean and convenient. The suites are great options for kids, so you can have a separate bedroom. The pool area had a full-size pool, as well as a small one for young kids as well as a hot-tub. Breakfast was excellent, including freshly cooked Belgian waffles.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stpaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The staff went beyond to help us on Labor Day weekend. Huge rooms, kind of over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttandjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It has never been on the level as a new Hampton or Courtyard but has been ok to stay in because they offer one bedroom suites that are nice when my daughter travels with me. This time it was much more run down. My husband who will stay in anything even commented on it. My daughter kept asking what the smell was. Our remote for the TV did not work. When we called they did come up to fix it. The air in our room also did not work. When I called to the desk to ask about it they told me to move the regulator to the lowest setting. That did nothing. I had it set at 50 and after an uncomfortable sleepless night in a warm stuffy room the temp was still 72 when I got up. I mentioned this when I checked out and the front desk clerk just laughed. I am spend over 150 nights a year in hotels and this was the worst I have stayed in for a very long time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcgvaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing