We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - We Will Be Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
389 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Place - We Will Be Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife, dog, and I stayed here in July of 2012. We have stayed before and we will stay again. It is a very wonderful place with a very nice staff. Our dog is extremely well behaved and they do take pets for an additional $15 per night. We do not mind paying this at all. This place is also only a block away from Lake Superior and is very much cheaper than adjacent hotels. You would most certainly not go wrong staying here. The continental breakfast is outstanding!

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to book early and you do not like heights or elevators, ask for somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandLisaFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review! It's great being pet friendly and having the opportunity to take care of your family and mans best friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    158
    74
    50
    24
See reviews for
194
115
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent and having a suite is great unfortunatly those are the only positives I can say about this hotel. Having small children with us safety is a big concern. There is a small hallway between the livingroom and bedroom. Partially blocking it was a small table with a 27 inch television set, not a flat screen but the boxy kind that are supposed to be attached to a wall so kids don't pull them off and get hurt. Since, it was in the way of the bedroom I knocked into it several times bringing things in before I just pushed the whole thing out of the way. I found it annoying that such an obvious safty hazard was waiting for us. However, the worst part was the cleaning. The walls were very dusty and cob webby to start with. We were there four nights and only the first night did the room ever have an attempt at being cleaned and then they didn't take out the trash (filled with diapers) nor did they give us any toilet paper. The next night we had to tell them to take out the trash and bring us clean towels. Finally, they attempted to clean the room at 8:00 in the morning the next day but since we weren't out yet we missed the opportunity to have the room cleaned. When we complained we were given a partial refund which is why they didn't get a terrible rating. Since, they had such a hard time cleaning I found it disturbing that pets are allowed in any room in the hotel. A note for allergy sufferers there were lots of pets when we were staying. It is an old factory converted to hotel and the ventillation was bad. We did have a hard time with the allergies because of that. Why did we continue to stay you might ask? Every other place was booked because we went over the fourth believe me it is a mistake we will not make again! We will not be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the middle of the floor plan that don't have windows but double doors instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewrgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for the review and your concerns about the TV location, we'll get it moved and out of the way. Also, we certainly apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced and we are always working to correct these slips when they happen. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Canal Park in Duluth is easily one of my most favorite places in the world. When it came time to plan a surprise trip for my guy's birthday, I knew there was no other place I wanted to take him. Luckily for me, he also has a soft spot for D-Town (having gone to school up there), so it was a foregone conclusion that our first trip together would be in Duluth.

We arrived a couple hours before check-in (on a Friday afternoon) and since it was quite chilly -- Duluth in February can't be any other way -- we decided to see if we could check in early before having to think of a Plan B. Luckily for us, our room was ready so the front desk allowed us to get checked in right away. Parking was not an issue -- we parked behind the hotel and not in the designated lot across the street, so check that out because it could be a little secret!

The rooms here are sort of like an Embassy Suites type set-up: there is a separate living area and a kitchen -- complete with a microwave, full size fridge, stove and even has glasses, cookware and flatware for your use. We had selected a one bedroom king suite, but they do have options for more than one bedroom if you have a large group. Overall the bedroom seemed a little on the small side, but it had a nice large armoire which probably took up more space than it needed to. The bed itself was super comfy and we enjoyed a few naps (and more) during our stay.

The layout of the hotel is a little confusing because there are pillars randomly on the floor, but I believe it is because there are interior rooms without windows (which is different than most hotels where every room has a window) -- so request a room with a window if you are claustrophobic! Makes for an interesting trek back to the room after spending the night out on the town (Go Bulldogs!). :)

My only negative comments are around the alarm from the previous guest waking us up at like 5 in the morning and we didn't stay for the entire weekend -- neither are negatives on the hotel! This is a quality hotel to stay at, especially if you are tired of the chain hotels. Its proximity to some of Duluth's better known attractions and restaurants make it a solid choice for a base camp. We did not bring our kids but knowing they have rooms with multiple bedrooms, this seems like a logical choice to stay whenever we do bring them up (maybe another 'Dogs game next winter?). The hotel does have a pool and a spa area, along with a complimentary breakfast, but our short stay did not give us enough time to check those out -- definitely next time!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyHole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you! Canal Park is great and our guests love our beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location of this hotel was wonderful. It is right in canal park and we were able to walk to many of our activities. We stayed in a King Suite. Our room had a king bedroom, a living room with sofa sleeper, and a small kitchen area. The kitchen area consisted of a 2 burner stove, sink, dishwasher, microwave, and a full size fridge. It was furnished with pots and pans, silverwear, and dishes. There are many places to eat near the hotel, but we choose to save money and cooked lunches in our hotel room. The hotel room layout was great for our family (2 kids). It was nice that the kids could go to bed in the living room and we still had our own space. We also had some family visit us while we were there and it was great that all of the kids (6 of them) could go play and watch tv in the bedroom and the adults could talk in the living room. The hotel has a swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, and excersice room. We really didn't spend much time at the pool, but it was nice for the kids to swim for a little each day. The hotel also has a hot continental breakfast. The hotel is an old warehouse so it doesn't look like your typical hotel. The room seemed dark and some places on the floor were uneven. The cleanliness of our room was average for a hotel room. There were little things that could have been improved upon, but nothing disguisting. The price for the room was higher than we typically spend for a hotel, but we did go during their peak season. Be sure to ask the front desk for a coupon booklet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Canal Park is one of the coolest destination in the state and we have the most unique hotel in Canal Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St, Paul, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family just stayed at this hotel two nights for a less than pleasant stay. The good: the hotel has character and a nice breakfast. You cannot hear the footsteps or voices from other guests in the hotels. We did not have problem getting the attention of the front desk. However, that is as far as it goes.

But, there is so many bad things .... (1) there are smoking rooms interspersed amongst the nonsmoking rooms. While the smell does not permeate into the rooms, it does permeate into the hallway as you walk to your room. (2) while you cannot hear the noises coming from other rooms in the hotel, the windows are so thin you can certainly hear outside ... for example, a train arriving at the depot at 10:00 p.m. or the boaters revelling with music and laughter late into the night as we were trying to sleep or the sirens of sirens going by at 3:30 a.m. (3) while you cannot hear the shower of other floors, my children described the sound of the shower like a vacuum cleaner from the front living area in the suite. After the second night, I checked it out and agreed ... it did sound like a vacuum cleaner on. So much for them being able to sleep in. (4) the blanket we used on the pull-out couch was crusty ... do they even bother to change bedding for the pull-out? But the worst thing that happened related to their pet policy. This hotel does allow pets. Some guests that had two dogs of which at least one had a large accident (#2 .. the big brown mushy kind) in the hallway. One of my daughters stepped into it barefoot, the other with her tennis shoes. As we got to our room, we did our best to quickly clean foot and shoe while we were overdue to meet friends. I advised the front desk to let them know that a hallway clean up was needed. Later, I checked back with the front desk to advise them that we had soiled towels (from the cleanup that we had left outside our room). The front desk said that they went up to clean, but it appeared that the owners had already taken care of it. I cannot believe that the owner used Resolve and a steam cleaner, but the front desk did not have any interest in a thorough cleaning that removed the residue from the owner's surface cleaning.

Of a lesser note, while close and in canal park, this hotel does not overlook the lake. There is so much that is missed when you cannot see the ships coming in or have the boardwalk right out the door.

Beware of what is left on your bedding, the floor, the hallways. The hotel does not seem to care. They certainly didn't when presented with multiple complaints nor did they apologize.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KCtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review. First let us apologize for the issues you experianced during your stay. We always do our best to correct the issues that we hear from our guests to avoid any repeats of the same issue. Being pet friendly has many plus's for our pet loving guests who travel with their 4 legged friends, but on occasion they do have accidents. We reget the owner didn't take care of it right away.... but they as quickly as they could and we sanitized the area after. Again we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Arrival - their website doesn't have a great description of where to park, which could be an improvement they could make. I parked across the street from the hotel in the lot marked as theirs, which was fine, you just have to cross the busy street which can be tricky at times, especially on a Sunday afternoon like when we arrived. After checking in, we discovered they also have part of the lot behind the building which doesn't require crossing the street. Either way, parking was free and convenient in either lot.
Check-in - very quick and efficient. The person assisting me was friendly and speedy - her tag said "trainee" but it didn't seem like it.
Room - our room was on the 4th floor and exactly as we had booked - a king room, interior (no windows). Upon arrival, we noted some sort of pills (cold pills likely) laying right in the middle of the floor and another one under the table. Not necessarily a huge deal, but at a hotel that has a lot of pets stay here, kind of scary if your dog found that. Other than that, the room appeared clean. Very large room with kitchenette. Bed was super comfortable, TV is an old-school big box TV set on a small stand at the foot of the bed. Our room had a large pillar on the left side of the bed, just one of the quirks of this older building that makes it unique.
Area - tremendous - lots of restaurant options within a very short walk, the aquarium, lakewalk, and bayfront park are right out the backdoor of the hotel. We were in town for a concert at Bayfront Park and this hotel was perfect for that.
Breakfast/checkout - breakfast was average for a hot breakfast at this type of hotel, lots of choices, average quality. Hotel does not provide slip under the door, but the front staff was friendly and speedy again at the checkout process.
Overall, I would definitely recommend the Suites, especially if you can get a room for a decent rate. If booking online, be sure to review the "type of rate" dropdown box, you may be able to secure a better rate than the rack rate.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on being in the room much, the interior rooms have no windows but are great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDHawkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed one night, two different occasions, both times in an interior room with no windows. Room was spacious, with kitchenette. Breakfast was awesome and staff was very nice. Even called to let us know about a flat tire on our vehicle. Very close to the lift bridge and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us when you're in Duluth...See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing