We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Lakemoor, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and I did a couples get away and stayed at The Suites. The room was very clean, large, and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and there are plenty of resturants and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    158
    74
    50
    24
See reviews for
194
115
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Circle Pines, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel was great! Even the smallest room is a great size. Beds are comfortable, pets are welcome for a small fee, hotel is clean, and the breakfast is great. Thanks for the great stay! We'll be back this summer!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Suites Hotel in Canal Park, which marked the second time we have stayed at this location. Once again, the hotel provides a quality overnight stay for a decent price. Our room featured a separate sleeping area that included two full-sized beds and a living area that included a hide-a-bed, kitchen table eating area and a nice kitchen area (sink, cooktop, microwave, full size frig and even a dishwasher). The room was clean and the furnishing were fairly current. A nice complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day.

The hotel does offer an indoor pool, hot tub and a sauna - which was one of the better saunas I have been in recently. The location is in the heart of Duluth's Canal Park, so it is easy to walk to the attractions and numerous restaurants.

We have been satisfied with our two stays at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park and would offer a solid recommendation for those looking for a nice location to stay at during their visit to Duluth. I will add that the suites/roomy are very spacious in comparison to your typical hotel room. Since this is a remodeled factory, the rooms have high ceilings with exposed pipes, bricks, etc (i.e. - urban loft space). Some may find this decor unappealing but I thought it added to the charm.

Room Tip: Interior rooms do not have windows, so you may want to consider that before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for writing about your past stays! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Had an overall wonderful stay. The location was great, close to neat attractions and sights. I love the history of the building and the surrounding area. Our room was huge! The staff were very helpful and the complimentary breakfast was nice too. I would like to revisit in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylarae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Our hotel is very unique and in a great location. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Suites is a good value, slightly quirky hotel in a great location. It is in need of some updates, but still a decent place to stay.

Canal Park in Duluth is a fun place to hang out, and you couldn't pick a more central location than where the Suites is sited. You can walk two blocks to the south to the Aerial Life Bridge, two blocks to the west to watch the UMD Bulldogs skate at the DECC, two blocks to the east to walk the shores of Gitchigumee, or a couple blocks north to get onto Superior Street in downtown Duluth. The hotel lobby connects to the Old Chicago restaurant, which is a great spot for pizza, appetizers, and a wide selection of beers.

The hotel itself is a converted 19th century warehouse that used to take cargo directly off ships moored alongside it and transfer the goods to railroad cars. There are some fascinating photographs in the pool area showing the the interior in the early 1900s. The origins of the building lead to some of its quirkiness. There are massive concrete columns throughout the building; if you get an interior room, you will have one of these columns in the middle of your living space! Ice machines are not on every floor, so you may have to make an extended trip depending on your room. This will give you a chance to use the exterior stairwells, which are heated nicely in the winter, but quite rustic. The hallways are long and dimly lit, framed by the massive columns. If you stand at one end of a hallway, you expect to see Danny Torrance turn the corner and ride his Big Wheel towards you ("What about Room 237?"). I'm sure that some people find the interior spooky.

Rooms are very large, and - since this is "The Suites" - have a full kitchen: full-sized refrigerator, microwave, sink, dishware, and even dishwasher. We have stayed twice here, and both times have had interior rooms. As others have noted, these rooms have two doors - one on either side - and no windows. This is off-putting to some. The bathroom is fine, with standard fixtures and decent shower. Our room had a king bed of decent comfort, paired with a pull-out sofa of little-to-no comfort. The furnishings are in good shape, but not new at all. An LCD flat-screen TV is the newest equipment in the room. Like the hallways, the interior lighting is dim: you'll probably want to turn on all the lights in the room to brighten up the high-ceilinged, industrial surroundings. Carpeting throughout the hotel appears badly in need of replacement.

You can enter the hotel from Lake Street, via an interior hallway that connects to Old Chicago, or from the parking lot in back. Parking is free for guests, and we had no problem getting a convenient space even after a heavy snowfall on a busy hockey weekend in February. The lobby area tries to warm the industrial flavor a bit with a stone fireplace and some easy chairs; this could be extended to make it more inviting. The entryways are hazardous during winter, as the stone floors become extremely slippery, and there is little done to remove or prevent the build-up of snow and water that accumulates.

Breakfast is included with your hotel stay, and it is surprisingly good. The scrambled eggs were fresh (not the commercial, crumbly kind you so often find at hotels), the sausage and bacon was good, and biscuits and gravy decent. It's so hard to find a place that does *really* good gravy! There were plenty of other options, including waffles, muffins, cereals, fruits, and hard-boiled eggs. Beverages included standard juice choices, milk, and fresh-brewed coffee. I'm a giant breakfast fan, and the quality of the breakfast is a key deciding factor for me when choosing hotels. For a "free" breakfast, this one is well-done.

If you want modern-everything, or like new and glittery, this is not the place for you: try the Canal Park Lodge. If you're looking for decent lodging at a reasonable rate in a super-convenient location, you'll find it here.

Room Tip: If having no windows freaks you out, do NOT take an interior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavageDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent location and a beautiful old hotel. Inside rooms are very dark and can get stuffy but that wouldn't keep me from staying here again. So much stuff in walking distance with a great bar in the lobby. A+

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan_woodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

my kids saw a naked guy in the sauna at 6 pm, pool was cold and so cloudy you could not see the bottom, daughter got a rash from the chlorine. breakfast was gag like and we had a flood from the floor above at 3 am and was up for 2 hours cleaning that up, We had to ask for a discount at the front desk. They didn't think it was all that bad to have been up with a flood. After a huge fight we got a night free. We certainly wont bother staying there again. The rooms look beautiful but the bedrooms are noisy and drafty. The tv remote remote did not work. i wore earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerly apologize for the problems during your stay. We always address posted comments and use them to make us better. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing