We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just got back from here on Tuesday after two wonderful nights in a two bedroom suite. The bed was king size and not only great for sleeping but reminded me of sheer luxury. The room was very large and had all you needed to enjoy a in room stay if you wanted. We dined at the attached restaurant in the suites and were quite happy with the service and food. Try the Paul Byan Onion, really a great treat! We also walked the area around the Suites and enjoyed all the old buildings and history it had to offer. Try to avoid the chocalate factory, you might fall in love with it and spend a big was of cash there. All in all I would definitely recommend this to any traveller looking for a relaxing stay. If you want to be frugal, just book during Sunday to Thursday as the rates are low in regards to the luxury you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake side on the 4th floor, great view of the water and sunrise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

These suites are huge. If you need a place to stay for one night or for a couple of weeks this is like your own little apartment. It is right by the harbor so close to all kinds of restaurants and unique shops. Parking is included in the price so that makes it a really good deal. You could not hear anyone in any of the other rooms, complete silence. We had a suite with a kitchenette, living room area and separate bedroom. The bedroom was also huge with a jacuzzi tub in it. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and could hear no traffic on the street even though we were on the street s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a great value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great experience at Suites Hotel of Duluth.
Room was excellent with partial view of harbor. Service was excellent as I left a bag and they were very helpful in finding it and shipping to my home address.
Room had everything we needed including kitchenette, sitting area full bath and King bed.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side were very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We just spent two nights here last month and we very happy with our stay. The location is great being in Canal Park with many restaurants and a minute away from the highway entrance for trips to Superior or Miller Hill Mall. The main downtown street is just across the highway for even more options.
We had a king size bed suite with a window and a small living room with a two burner hotplate, a sink, microwave and a full size fridge. A lot of the rooms are interior with no windows so you have to ask. The room rate includes a full breakfast buffet with eggs, potatoes, sausage and waffles along with fruit and cereals. The hotel is pet friendly so be forewarned there are dogs around though they were friendly too. Of of the benefits is you have a free parking spot across the street which can often be a problem when driving to the area from other hotels.
The price was only a little higher than the discount chain we usually stay at and with the amenities and quiet it was worth the extra money. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a window.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbrecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stay at this hotel mainly whenever we do a trip to Duluth. Great location, good price, spacious rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff, clean, cozy. Our five year old loved the pool. Close to some great restaurants. Love the full size fridge!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This place as it all!...Location, friendliest staff, complimentary food and beverage coupons, hot breakfast, pool and spa area, not to mention charm galore! Everything is in excellent working order and where else will you find free parking downtown?! Even the small, cozy rooms are spacious! We're defintely making our place to stay from now on.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quiet and you won't miss having a window when you see the layout.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is an old manufacturing plant that was converted to hotel rooms so some of the rooms are on the inside and do not have windows. So if you are at all claustrophobic, make sure you ask for a room with windows. But, also be advised, the windows don't open so the only air that you will get is by turning the fan on the air/heat. Too bad because the breeze off the lake is wonderful. The room was clean but a little outdated. The beds were VERY comfortable, not your usual hotel comfort. The staff was very helpful and quick check-in. The complimentary breakfast what you would expect for free. I would stay here again but don't expect luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: £83 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing