We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Hopkins, MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is perfect for touring Duluth and canal park. We were thrilled to be able to have our dog here. Generous breakfast. Our only issue is some rooms do not have window to outside and this should be clearer on reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TravelersHopkins_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    158
    74
    50
    24
See reviews for
194
115
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a great time in our suite, could use a little updating... but worked just fine for us. Nice, big, open rooms that helped us relax our weekend away! They are also pet friendly so we were ok spending just a little extra for the place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuponjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Very spacious place and comfortable beds! There were some furniture pieces that were a bit worn but it was fine for us as we were just a one night stay in the area. Full kitchen and was stocked with fiesta ware dishes. Would be a great place to stay if it was an extended stay for a group, family or two couples. The condo could be easily shared. Only bummer or negative to us is that there is no water view so it is located int the canal park area but no lake side rooms. Ended up not mattering as it was located near great dining options and the boardwalk for the lake was a quick walk away. We will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank harleytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for writing, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked this hotel as friends were overnighting there on a drive home. I was unsure as the room had no window but the price of $109 plus taxes was very reasonable. We entered thru the bedroom which was not huge but a fair size. It had a TV off to the side which meant laying down on your side to watch it or sitting on the edge of the bed.The bathroom was off of the bedroom and was a standard hotel bathroom (tub/shower combo,not overly large ) The kitchenette was in the next room. There was a very well used couch against the wall ,a small work desk was by the door.There were plug in for your electronics.I did have issues connecting to the internet and went to the front desk to ask about it. The girl was on her 1st day so she wasn't very helpful. It did work when I tried again but it was not a very good internet connection , It was extremely slow.The TV in this room was on the wall beside the couch ,so again you had to crane your neck to watch it. There was an apartment size fridge in the room ,a dishwasher ,a microwave and a 2 burner cooktop. There were dishes and glasses for 4 in the cupboards. A pitcher to make juice a couple of pots. There was a coffee maker to. I did notice the only mirror was in the bathroom,which was a let down as I usually put on my make up when my husband is in the shower. The free Breakfast was great. There was lots to choose from. (pancakes,make your own breakfast burritto,bagels toast,waffles,fruit juices coffee) I am sure anyone could find something they would like. The coffee was out all day which was nice. They have a parking lot across the street from the hotel ,you display a ticket in your window to park there. Canal park is a really nice place to stay. We walked the area saw sailboats coming into the harbour ,browsed shops and stopped for ice cream. I will stay here again when I visit or do another stopover again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent one night 8/2/14 at this hotel. AT $225/ night this should be a first class property. Its not! First you are paying for location and while similar priced venues have waterfront views here you get a busy street or a parking lot with a 50 foot freighter behind it. Hallways and rooms are dingy and poorly lit signs to rooms and layout are convoluted so you must follow a maze to your room. This place is a converted warehouse and it looks it . It starts with parking not only is it inadequate but there is no drive up entry way to drop of your bags front or back and no one to assist, so you are forced to tote all your luggage across the busiest street in Duluth. Upon check in no one asks you do you need help with your bags.
So we arrive at the room , again terrible layout two rooms but you have to negotiate a corner hallway between them. There was a couch in the living room it was stained, had two holes and was broken down. The furniture is cheap paper laminate. The coffee table had a large scratch on the top, real inviting. The bath was furnished just a cheaply a formica tub kit that had mold in the seams. Thankfully we only had to spend one night here the rub is what we had to spend for that night. With so many other places to stay you would think the management be more on top of things. SAVE YOUR MONEY DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for writing this review. We appreaciate your comments, we always take them to heart and will endeavor to correct any issues Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 BR condo; having a second bathroom was a bonus. The space was clean and HUGE; the partial view of the lake an unexpected treat. The only bizarre quirk was a two person whirlpool tub in the middle of the living room (in a unit that sleeps 8, really?). The pool was warm and pool towels plentiful. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was typical of most we've experienced. Our space was very quiet, free from both interior and street noise. The location is fantastic, walking distance to the lakewalk, maritime museum, restaurants and play in Canal Park. Parking right across the street. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The condo you stayed in is a great space if you have a large group traveling together, it's like a apartment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff and facilities were excellent as we helped plan and attend our son's wedding in Duluth. Especially helpful was the front desk manager, Jeremy, the maintenance employee, Kelly, and the entire housekeeping staff who came whenever we needed additional clean ups. The internet connection was not as strong as it has been on past visits, but the front desk staff worked to improve these problems expeditiously. My entire family attended the event and were impressed with the accommodations offered at this site. Easy to reach and access to many of the Duluth attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window over the street, although any rooms are acceptable. Even the interior r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad were able to help make the wedding weekend an success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Property: The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing