We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The good:
Accommodating staff, friendly service
Attentive lifeguards
Fun waterpark
Room had a microwave and fridge. That's handy for kids.

The bad:
The quality of food at the pool snackbar was pretty bad and not cheap (it's hard to ruin boxed mac & cheese, but they did at $5 for a kid's meal)
The rooms need some updating. It's trying for a Polynesian feel, but you know, some nice white comforters that can be washed after every stay (instead of the polyester bedding that we've all seen on "Nightline" or whatever) would be a big improvement
The balconies could use a nice deep cleaning
The lakeview rooms face the lake, but you're not right on the lake. You're on the interstate. Occasionally a loud car really can shake up the room.

I would definitely stay here again with kids. Business travel - no way.

Room Tip: We had 1st floor lakeview balcony. We were near the pool and didn't really get a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leezer1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Leezer1015,

Thank you very much for posting your detailed review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry we did a bad job at the pool snackbar, and I will personally spend more time there to assure proper products and procedures are being used. Your input and feedback is important to us and we will take it into consideration as we make improvements to the hotel. We do deep clean the balconies in rotation and I'm sorry yours wasn't in better condition. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate your kind words. I hope we can serve you here again on a future visit and that you will be more pleased with us at that time.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    214
    140
    109
    75
See reviews for
563
47
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are a Family of 5, three kids ages 15, 12, 7. We had a great time for a 2 night stay, the price was a great value. Our boys enjoyed the mini golf. The water park served as a great place for babies to preteen kids to experience a water park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Adam Z,

Thank you very much for posting your great review and rating about your recent stay with us. We are proud to provide excellent service, facilities and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will let us serve you here again.


Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My kids loved this hotel. We stayed in a suite that had a separate rooms with bunkbeds which was great. I loved that it had an indoor waterpark for the kids but also a heated outdoor pool and hot tub if you wanted to get away from all the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear tuttifrutti123,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice comments. We know how important it is to have quality family time and are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your time here. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our family enjoyed this hotel and its amenities. Waterpark had a good variety of activies. The outdoor pool was very warm and fun to swim outside facing Lake Superior. Enjoyed the view of lake and lift bridge. Room is average on the older part, but clean and had most everything we like in a room, plus the price was reasonable. (there are always trade-offs) Mini-fridge needed to be defrosted, but staff brought a working one within 30 minutes. Would have liked a mini-microwave too. Roasted marshmellows 1 night, as hotel provided it. Our 8 year old son enjoyed arcade & mini-golf to have other things to do besides waterpark.

Room Tip: Rooms not in the Tiki Tower---had to walk outside or use sky walk. Liked the view alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Tracy A,

Thanks for sharing posting your great review about your recent stay with us. We value your business and your feedback. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you better the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

At check in we were told that the outdoor pool was open. When we went down to check out the waterpark and pool, we saw a sign by the outdoor pool that said, "pool closed". The "waterpark" was small and dark. There were exactly 2 waterslides - both enclosed. There was no place for anyone to swim indoors. I went to find out if the outdoor pool was open yet and saw that it was not, so I went to the lobby. I asked the manager if the outdoor pool was supposed to be open and he informed me that it was open. I told him that there was a sign that said that it is closed and he said he would check on it. He disappeared around the corner, made a phone call and, when he came back, several minutes later, walked over to the window and said, "It's open!" I have no doubt that he called and told them to open it only because I asked about it. Once we were able to get into the outdoor pool, we found it to be especially nice. It was warm and it was kind of fun to be able to enjoy an outdoor pool in pleasant weather and still see the ice on Lake Superior. The spa would have been enjoyable if it had not been full of sand from all of the children who would come into it after having been on the playground and also if it had not been full of children. There is an abundance of lifeguards in the "waterpark" area but none for the outdoor pool or to supervise the spa.
Our room left so much to be desired. I was extremely small. We requested a rollaway when we checked in and we ended up having to call to remind them to bring it. There was a small refrigerator but no microwave. There were people down the hall cooking something in their room. The walls are paper thin (my husband heard the light switch click in the room next door). You could hear doors slamming all night long and people running up and down the hall. You could see daylight around the door and there was a large gap between the in wall air conditioner unit and the wall. There were 1 1/2 rolls of toilet paper for 5 people for 2 days. All of the rooms in our part of the hotel were non smoking, but the hallway reeked of smoke because people would stand outside with the door open while they smoked.
There is not enough parking for the number and location of the rooms that this hotel has.
This hotel might work for a couple with children under the age of ten who would like to sit and drink while their kids are in the water at the "waterpark". However, if you have children who actually like to swim, save your money and go to a less expensive hotel with a regular pool.
The staff here were less than friendly with one exception - the young man who was working in the game room on Sunday. We will definately NOT be back to this hotel. We are considering one more solidly built for a quiet night.

Room Tip: The best advice I can give to help someone choose a good room would be to choose a room at a differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Addison N,

I am very sorry for all the problems you encountered here and offer my sincere apologies for the frustration, discomfort and disappointment you experienced. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.The only way we can get better is to get honest and timely feedback from guests like you. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Tkki Tower with my daughter and niece. Staff were outstanding from th registration desk to housekeeping, to the waterpark. Everyone listened to our needs and took care of us. Gave us a room on ground floor close to the exit for our dog without us even having to ask which was so helpful. Room was clean and even though it looked directly out to the water park, we barely heard any noise. I can't give it all stars because no matter what we did we couldn't get the room to cool down. Air conditioning ran constantly and the room never got cool enough for a comfortable sleep. It was like the floors were heated.nice place we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MemorySaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear MemorySaver,

Thanks for posting your nice review about our hotel. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here. I'm sorry for the discomfort you experienced due to the AC unit in your room and offer my sincere apologies. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you and your family the next time you visit Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Two issues: one resolved, the other not. The first night I had an adjoining room with a field trip of students next door to me. At 10 PM too noisy, so the front desk changed my room. The clerk was very accommodating and understanding as a former teacher and Girl Scout leader I have done my fair share of overnight field trips - did not feel the need to re-visit the experience.

I stayed 4 nights, each night used the automatic wake-up call system. Three mornings, the call came from 40-55 minutes late. When I called the front desk, the clerk assured me if I called the desk, someone would personally call me - never happened. The morning I was checking out, I needed to get up at 6 AM so I asked my husband to call me from home - thank goodness he did because the automated system called 55 minutes late and the desk clerk never called despite my personal request the night before. I used the automatic wake-up call because I could not get the clock radio alarm to work right.

I stay at the Edgewater anywhere from 6-10 nights a year as I am in Duluth to visit with my father (who is 100 years young) and my brother. Not having a reliable wake-up system in place could be a big problem. Usually the Edgewater addresses problems quickly but two calls to the front desk about the same issue gives me pause to think about my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not an adjoining one if you do not need one!!! Also, stay in the Tiki Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Kathy C,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your candid comments. I am truly sorry for the poor service you received from our automatic wake up call system and from our front desk team, and offer my sincerest apologies for the problems they caused. We greatly value your business and your feedback, which we will to improve our operation. I will instruct the IT team to investigate and repair the phone/wake up system and have housekeeping report all non functioning clock radios, so they can be replaced. Our front desk team will be more diligent about wake up call, too. We'd like to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing