We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What fun for families... We needed some kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What fun for families... We needed some kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

By the time we decided to stay in Duluth July 4-5, this was about the only available hotel. As a hotel, it is about like an older Travellodge or Howard Johnson. Our room opened to the outside, but I think some have internal halls. The linens are like camp... Small, thin and scratchy. But it is fine and fairly quiet.
The cost is high if you don't plan to use the water park, miniature golf, etc. but for a family, this place is great. Parking was a challenge, but this is probably their busiest weekend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SoonerLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SonnerLater,

Thanks for posting your comments about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and that we met your needs. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    211
    137
    107
    73
See reviews for
555
47
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The waterpark is a lot of fun with kids. The rest of the hotel and rooms are outdated and not especially clean. Rooms have a Tiki theme from the 1980's but was renovated in 2000's. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of June 2014. Our room was straightened but not vacuumed or really cleaned after the first night. Sticky spots on floor in our room so I recommend you wear your shoes. View of Superior was stunning from the balcony. Tables and chairs had to be wiped down in our room because they also were sticky. They offer a breakfast buffet but check the times before hand since they closed earlier than posted times. Food was okay for the 2 for one $9.00 price but not worth anything more than that since it is about what you would expect from a free continental breakfast at other hotels. Luckily we stayed early June before the expensive summer rates apply. Close enough to Lake Superior but you need to drive to Canal Park and pay for parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with water park FACING lake Superior or you may end up in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YessiG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear YessoG411,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your stay with us last month. I am very sorry our housekeeping department didn't perform up to our usual high standards and offer my apologies for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I'm also sorry we didn't make it clear that we do offer complimentary shuttle service to Canal Park, so there is no need to drive or pay for parking. I hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresser, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were going to my mother in-laws 85birthday party in Duluth,MN. It just so happened that we were in charge of 2 grand kids so we thought it would be fun to try out this hotel and water park. Made an easy reservation then thought why don't we ask 3 more grand kids if they would like to come with us. Of course they would. Noe we have 5grand kids age 5 to 12 when we show up for a reservation for only 4. The front desk girl din not even bat an eye she said would you like an extra cot ? Checked in in a few minutes got the wristbands and off to the water park.
Nice water park with the most attentive and watchful staff of any I have had the pleasure of meeting

Room Tip: Ask for lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your wonderful review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel with one exception we have teenagers that said they were bored with the waterpark. We went outside to use the outside pool and spa and they didn't seem quite as bored and could lay out in the sun. It is a beautiful view in the pool area of Lake Superior. Our room was large enough for all of us to be comfortable. The hallways were loud at night but to be expected since soccer teams were staying there. We used the shuttle service to go to Canal Park which was a wonderful amenity. We would go back again!

Room Tip: Choose lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegomom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear onthegomom66,

Thanks for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry your teens were bored with the waterpark and happy to learn they were less bored with our outdoor pool and sunbathing area. I'm sorry too for the noisy hallways and appreciate your understanding. I'm glad you liked your stay overall and that you would stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our first trip to Duluth and we decided to stay at the Edgewater for the Waterpark-- I have two children 2/4 and they both absolutely loved it! The waterpark play area had enough to keep both of them busy for hours. It was big enough for the both of them to explore yet small enough for me to keep an eye on both with plenty of lifeguards on staff to monitor the area.
We really did enjoy our stay-- the hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and it was located close to all the local attractions we wanted to see. I would recommend this hotel to any family with small children-- very family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear April H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your very first TA review about your recent experience at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a good time and were happy with the service and accommodations here. We value your business and feedback and appreciate your compliments and recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have been coming back to the Edge every summer for the past 5 years. The waterpark keeps my boys entertained, the outdoor pool is a great way to gather some fresh air and exercise, and we are close enough to Canal Park and the walking path. Room rates are reasonable. The staff is always friendly and accomodating. The new buffet is awesome, we enjoyed flaxseed pancakes and chocolate/bacon pancakes, scrambled eggs with cheese and parsley, and hearty bacon. Reasonable breakfast price for adults and only 99 cents for each child. Look forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Loved having a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharleneSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear SharleneSmile,

Thank you very much for returning to us with your family for so many years! We're so glad you know you can count on us for a great stay and lots of fun and fond memories, and we really appreciate your compliments. We value your business and your feedback and are pleased to know you like the changes and improvements we've made to our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was my first trip to Grandma's Marathon in Duluth. This hotel is on the last leg of the route and we had front row seats as runners were running their last 4 miles. The hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate runners and their families. Complimentary snacks and fruit in the lobby, sign-making, a party in the parking lot with music and hot dogs and beer! Free shuttle rides to and from Canal Park - a wonderful convenience. A grand buffet breakfast in their conference center. While I didn't use the water park, my grandson did and it was clean and very well attended to. We asked for a room upgrade and were quickly and easily accommodated. This is a premiere hotel especially if you're going for Grandma's Marathon.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms offer a balcony looking out at Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingsis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear pingsis2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review about your stay with us during the exciting Grandma's Marathon weekend. Everyone gets energized by the runners and supporting them is a real pleasure for all of us here. It sounds like you had a lot of fun and we really appreciate your kind words. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing