We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay for a family reunion at the Edgewater.
This turned out to be the perfect place for our family reunion. We had one of their meeting rooms with the beautiful view overlooking Lake Superior. All the staff that I encountered were very pleasant and the on duty manager ( I forgot his name) was very accommodating to the needs of our gathering. We have stayed there in the past a number of years ago so we were familiar with the property. All the kids from our gathering enjoyed the waterpark, arcade, and mini golf. My wife and our kids walked over the pedestrian bridge and down the lake and skipped rocks. I did not hear one complaint from anyone at our reunion about the property or their individual rooms. My wife & kids said they had trouble receiving the wifi signal in our room on their Ipods & tablet, but my laptop did just fine.

The Room:
Our room was in the old original wing on the street side. We really weren't bothered by traffic or other noise. The room was very clean and well equipped. Small microwave, mini fridge (no freezer shelf), large flat panel tv, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. There was even a boot tray if needed for sloppy shoes.

The Breakfast:
Due to other activities at the hotel, the first morning the hot breakfast buffet was not available so instead the hotel provided a complimentary cold breakfast at no charge. This consisted of cold cereal, muffins, yogurt, packaged hard boiled eggs, granola bars, coffee, juice, & milk. We did notice that they didn't have salt/pepper, butter, or straws available. But free is free, and we really did appreciate it.
Our second morning the hot breakfast buffet was up and running. I must say that this is worth the extra add on cost, $5.99/adult & $.99/child. This consisted of scrambled eggs, a PILE of bacon (thicker cut), 3 choices of pancakes, oatmeal, big fresh cinnamon rolls, fruit, breads, muffins, bagels, & an assortment of beverages.

Location:
This is on the north end of town, and not within walking distance of downtown, Canal Park, or other attractions. Aside from that, the location still has conveniences. Interstate 35 starts/ends right there. Next door is Perkins and a gas station, across the street is Black Woods Grill restaurant and Dunn Bros Coffee, at the other end of the long block is McDonalds.

This would be a good place to stay at the beginning of a trip up the Northshore especially if you have children.

Room Tip: Basically there are two buildings connected by a second floor hallway. The older building is the or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familycircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear familycircus,

Thanks for choosing to have your family reunion at our hotel and for taking the time to post your great, detailed review. It was wonderful for us to see so many people connecting and reconnecting while you were here. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provided and appreciate your compliments and kind words. I hope you will be our guests again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    221
    147
    112
    77
See reviews for
585
48
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perham, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent 2 nights and 2 days at the Edgewater. The waterpark was amazing, lifeguards were fantastic. Food prices at the Grill were too high. The breakfast buffet was a letdown, too expensive for what you got(should be complimentary), way out the way to get to. Only one really usable elevator in the main building, the other was way out of the way, discount tickets for other stuff in Duluth were ok, some not much of a discount. Would we stay again, yes, but not buy the breakfast and probably only for one night and just for the waterpark.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the older "travel Motel" part, rooms are cheaper in that building, would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Flashmiester,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I'm glad you were happy with our waterpark, and that you would come back to stay with us to enjoy the waterpark again. I'm sorry other aspects of your stay were not as good, and apologize for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your business and your feedback and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Took our 9 year old granddaughter and 4 year old grandson to the Duluth area and we had a great time and experience at the Edgewater Hotel and Waterpark. Had a lakeside view room and happened to see an ore ship heading out and lit up at night. Staff at both hotel and Waterpark friendly and helpful. Couldn't beat price on breakfast buffet, which was ample for our appetites. Would recommend and would come again.

Room Tip: Loved our lakeside room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Betty K,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your delightful review. I'm glad you and your grandchildren were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations so our guests can have a worry free stay and create many fond memories of their time here. We appreciate your compliments and recommendation and hope to welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed with friends for 1 night on our way up to Grand Marais. The room was in the older part of the motel, which we thought would be quieter than in the building with the water park. There was street noise and lots of kids running around outside all night long. The little fridge in the room did not have a freezer to put our cooler ice packs in. We were at least able to keep our food cold, but had to fill the cooler with ice from the ice machine that was upstairs. No ice machine on the lower level, which was inconvenient. There was a stairway right in front of our room with kids running up and down it and kept looking in our window. We had to keep the drapes closed. The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing to rave about. There are not enough toasters or waffle makers to accomodate the large crowds in the breakfast area. Expect a long wait if you want to make toast or a waffle. The beds were not very comfortable and we heard a lot of noise all night long.

Room Tip: Don't book a room by a stairway and don't expect that the room will be quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear CraftGal,

I'm sorry you and your friends did not have a better time here and offer my apologies for the inconveniences, discomforts and disturbances you experienced during your stay. We make every effort to provide each guest with a quiet and comfortable stay, and take it very seriously when we learn that we have failed. We will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Maple Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed with 3 kids ages 13-8 over the July 4th weekend. I found the Edgewater to be a great value for the price. We stayed in the older "classic" part of the hotel and found it very convenient to park right outside of our room. The kids really enjoyed the water park and the location is great. Right down the road from the Rose Gardens and near several good restaurants. The room was recently renovated and, although a bit snug, was clean and everything functioned well. Some areas of the older part of the hotel did show wear and tear and there was some atrocious carpet in the hallways but overall, I was very satisfied. The breakfast buffet was a steal and had the most delicious bacon I've tasted anywhere. I think I would return just for that alone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knox55362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Knox55362,

Thanks for taking the time to write and post your great review about your stay with us over the Independence Day weekend. We are proud to provide excellent service, facilities, amenities and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just got back from a vacation to Duluth and we stayed at The Edge in the main tower. We had an excellent experience! Our boys, 10 & 11 loved the waterpark ! It was great fun for them to look forward to being at the hotel! We had a two bedroom room overlooking Lake Superior. The view was amazing and it was very spacious and quiet. A great family friendly place to enjoy the north shore !

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking Lake Superior have the best view of canvas park and the lift bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tracy M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your great review about your experience here. It's guests like you that make our jobs of providing an excellent atmosphere where families can create great memories together. I'm happy you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves and appreciate your compliments. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

By the time we decided to stay in Duluth July 4-5, this was about the only available hotel. As a hotel, it is about like an older Travellodge or Howard Johnson. Our room opened to the outside, but I think some have internal halls. The linens are like camp... Small, thin and scratchy. But it is fine and fairly quiet.
The cost is high if you don't plan to use the water park, miniature golf, etc. but for a family, this place is great. Parking was a challenge, but this is probably their busiest weekend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SoonerLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SonnerLater,

Thanks for posting your comments about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and that we met your needs. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Property: Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
Address: 2400 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing