We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Night Stay in Duluth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downtown Duluth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Fernie British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Night Stay in Duluth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

First time stay at the downtown Best Western location in Duluth. Would definitely stay again. Continental breakie and -price of accommodation very good. Did not expect French toast and sausages at breakfast so this was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    108
    85
    40
    33
See reviews for
83
119
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williams, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The parking was unhandy (steeply sloped), traffic difficult on a busy one-way street, and the room was so small that one of the beds was up against the heating/cooling unit. It was impossible to reach the window/ curtains due to the bed in the way. Definitely not the place for elderly or anyone with any sort of mobility issues. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear KathPM,

I am very sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced here. I agree, we are not a great choice for folks who have mobility issues, understand your frustration. We appreciate your business and value your input, as it helps us improve in areas that need attention. We would like the chance to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this discussion personally. I hope you were able to enjoy other aspects of your visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this motel and we were pleasantly pleased. Rooms were updated and clean, and it was very quiet. We enjoyed the downtown location as it was with in walking distance to most shops, bars etc. There were some homeless people as reviews had stated but they were harmless. There was enough parking the first night but the second night we had to park in the back lot. It was well lit and I felt comfortable leaving my vehicle there. The motel was one of the nicer ones I have stayed in. The flowers out front were very pretty and the staff was nice for the most part. Watch out for the brown haired lady that works the front desk, she was very rude and had the personality of a stick when we checked in. It was a busy labor day weekend and pride in Duluth so I could see how you could be over whelmed. We had issues with our TV and the night staff came right over and was very helpful. I mentioned the checkin and she apologized and said that wasnt the first complaint she had recieved that day and that the lady was the assistant GM. She was way more helpful in offering suggestions in the downtown area and canal park. You are about 3/4 of a mile from Canal park but can take the walk way through the Holiday Inn. We explored the crap out of Duluth so we were rarely in our rooms. I would stay here again. The breakfast looked decent but we did not have it.

Room Tip: Room 246 is where we stayed. By stair way was noiser in am but otherwise a great location and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went on a weekend trip to Duluth and stayed at the Downtown Bestwestern. We had a wonderful stay, the room was extremely clean and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. The main lobby was great and the people working the front desk were very helpful! There was enough parking provided for all guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deephaven, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This has been our 4th trip/stay in Duluth at this hotel & each time the experience has been the same; clean rooms, friendly & helpful staff & a great value for our money. Location allows us to leave our vehicle parked & walk to most of the sights that we want to visit. This hotel is easily in walking distance to many fine eating establishments & bars. The rooms have always been clean & everything in the rooms have worked, ex.: TV, showers, lights, a/c, etc...! The breakfast is simple, but good. It's a nice way to start your day. Plus it's fun to interact with some of the other guest in the cozy setting. As long as there are rooms available here when I visit Duluth, I'll be staying again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Robert J,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your many stays, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

clean, quiet and comfortable -good value for convenient location with a quick start breakfast and internet access. Good beds, clean rooms overall good atmosphere. Give it a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Dean O,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice comments and 5 star rating. I'm glad you found us to be a good value and that we met your lodging needs. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Not the best hotel in Duluth, but it ranks way up there for value and helpful friendly staff. Parking is really tight. Breakfast is marginal, but the rooms are tidy, clean and comfortable. Stayed at the Holiday Inn the following week b/c that was where my travel agent booked me. Cost 40% more, did not have breakfast, and the rooms frankly were not 40% more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Tom P,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Duluth. I'm glad our service and accommodations met your needs and expectations. We appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Property: The Downtown Duluth Inn
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing